Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
23 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 23

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


bad report

Joined:
2009/12/25 19:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 93
Offline
there must be "bad" reports too.
i have 2 pc at home right now, i tryed to install icaros 1.2.4 on them.

1st machine is a gateway gt5228j
(http://supcontent.gateway.com/s/PC/R/1014951R/1014951Rsp2.shtml)
2nd machine is an old shuttle xpc
(http://global.shuttle.com/product_detail_spec.jsp?PI=75)


problems
========

with the gateway:

- integrated sound, net, gfx doesn't work.
fortunately i had a realtek 8169 lying around,
so i could finally get online.

gfx is integrated intel gma X3100 which isn't supported.
so i used a nvidia gts 250 (1gb) pciexpress.
it worked, but the fan speed is alway 100% ... so it's unbearable after few hours, noise-wise.

integrated sound is intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HDA (rev 02)
didn't work. daveae tryed to help with it the other day but no success. my only spare sound card is an old sb live!
and that didn't work either.
all in all, the machine booted fine while being noisy (fanS going 100%),
anyway no sound is not acceptable. so having to give up
with the gateway i tryed to use the shuttle instead..


with the shuttle:

the shuttle integrated sound works; network and gfx don't.
no surprise here, gfx is sis "mirage" and net is via vt6103.

this machine only have agp and pci buses. no pci express.
fortunately i had a another nvidia spare, a geforce 6 series (A6800XT 256mb agp)
it worked but i had lots of artefacts most notably around the pointer, but not only. and fan speed is 100% too .. noisy..
i thought this machine could be made to work,
but after half a day on it i had to give up. the main problem is that i wasn't able to boot from hd.
i tryed with sata (in ide mode),
i tryed a real (old) 160gb ide drive. both detected and accessible from icaros live CD.
but no matter what i tryed (sfs/ffs .. ide alone in master and so on) i wasn't able to boot from hd.

some component weren't supported,
some were mostly working but not completely ..
the point i'm trying to make is, adding new features is nice but the base still need more work.

i regret kickstart days on amiga it was great. you could never be stuck like that with a machine at minimum you'd get shell a prompt.
with the addition of almost instantaneous boot up.
pc hardware is cheap but it can be a real pita to support.

i'll have to find parts that are better supported with aros.
so while aros is getting better and better everyday, the base stuff like boot process are still flakey and need more care. and fans are noisy.

Posted on: 2010/10/26 22:11
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2008/10/11 22:43
Group:
Member
Posts: 508
Offline
Thanks for the feedback. Which sb live is it?
Strange that the VT6103 does not work with the rhine driver, will note it in the HCL.

I tend to choose components that do not have fans at all, being used to and prefer the old base a500/a1200 idea - no heatsinks/fans...

I wonder if SiS has similar issues like VIA regarding booting and support...

We have a bounty for ACPI but no support yet.

Jeff.

Posted on: 2010/10/26 23:20
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2008/6/7 13:52
Group:
Member
Posts: 2050
Offline
Is the Soundblaster live the EMU10k version, ie is there a chip on there called that. It will not work without it.

On HDAudio, sorry your machine not supported, this is why I offered to open source it because Davy is getting more and more busy now and so other can take a look.

Posted on: 2010/10/26 23:31
_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D and iMica Silent and NVidia version running latest Icaros.
http://www.imica.net
Please support the Amigas future, this year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2009/12/25 19:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 93
Offline
@jeffrey1138
it's a ct4830 "soublaster live!"
it used to work in the amigaone xe.. another door stopper..
if i plug it into the gateway machine it doesn't even boot.
maybe a pci voltage/compatibility issue ? is it supposed to work? maybe it's an issue with the gateway motherboard?
i'd be surprised though cause the pci bus work fine with the realtek 8169 ..

i think i'll go for parts without fan at all from now on.
all these years using machines with fans everywhere gfx, motherboard, power supply .... even if each of them is kind of silent, all running together hour after hour ..

i want to remove them all ..the chips will melt ;)

@clusteruk
thanks .. without you and daveae there would be no hda support at all yet. it's the problem with PCs lots of different chips .. some have the same generic name like "hda" but in reality lots of different chips, codecs etc ...
i'll try with different parts, looking at hcl too .. i just wanted to give a try with what i had at hand.

hummm... now that i think about it, there may even be a solution!
i could use the gateway to do the install, having grub properly setup, getting an hd with aros ready to boot, and then i could transplant it into the shuttle :)
i think it could work that way :)

Posted on: 2010/10/26 23:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2008/10/11 22:43
Group:
Member
Posts: 508
Offline
CT4830 should, in theory, work but it is untested. Maybe used another pci slot as there were issues with slots used.

Another reason why I never want fans, if they fail or stop...

Once we have ACPI, then fans can be controlled.

Jeff.

Posted on: 2010/10/26 23:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2009/12/25 19:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 93
Offline
hum..no dice..
the other day, using the same icaros cd, and the same machine (the gateway) i succeeded getting a bootable aros, but not today. i wonder what's different today.
when i say "succeeded" i mean it failled with the default options, i don't remember what i had to change to make it work that day though.

while it's still fresh in my memory, about today i can say: using default filesystem option (sfs) completely freeze the machine at the post-install-script time.
i looked in the post-install-script but it seem to me there's nothing sensitive in there, just icons setup and such.
i see no reason why the install specificaly freeze aros here each time sfs is the default fs.
selecting ffs allows me to finish the install completely, no freeze, but then when i reboot i get stuck with message "grub loading .." then nothing.

well i wasted a day. and the poor shuttle had the bad luck to find himself under my foot. it was about time i got rid of that junk anyway. probably the amigaone xe is next.
come to think about it the gateway too is an horrible piece of crap. i should save the cpu, ram, gfx board and send the rest to hell too.

Click to see original Image in a new window



i need a new fanless computer ..

Posted on: 2010/10/27 2:10

Edited by freeeaks on 2010/10/27 2:49:12
Edited by freeeaks on 2010/10/27 2:55:04
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 3645
Offline
Quote:

freeeaks wrote:

i need a new fanless computer ..


Go for a iMica Silent. It's reasonably cheap, reasonably powerful, well supported by AROS and you can even try to build it yourself recycling the Shuttle case.

Posted on: 2010/10/27 5:49
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2008/6/7 13:52
Group:
Member
Posts: 2050
Offline
Ahem, walk this way my fine young man.

Damm, what, we sold them all. Only got motherboards at the moment but could always make some more.

http://www.imica.net/SitePortalPage.aspx?siteid=1&did=138

Steve

Posted on: 2010/10/27 6:04
_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D and iMica Silent and NVidia version running latest Icaros.
http://www.imica.net
Please support the Amigas future, this year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2008/2/4 8:39
Group:
Member
Posts: 823
Offline
Quote:
freeeaks wrote:
well i wasted a day. and the poor shuttle had the bad luck to find himself under my foot.


Found itself under your foot carrying out repeated stamping motiion?

Posted on: 2010/10/27 6:41
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: bad report

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2046
Offline
Maybe the intelpro100.device driver just needs a new PCI ID to work with the 10/100 Intel NIC. What's the PCI ID? And do VESA graphics not work on either PC? Maybe you need to set the refresh mode.

Posted on: 2010/10/27 7:44
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3645
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3452
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3005
4 magorium
magorium
2917
5 deadwood
deadwood
2324
6 mazze
mazze
2065
7 clusteruk
clusteruk
2050
8 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2046
9 damocles
damocles
1769
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1705
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec