Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
28 user(s) are online (21 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 28

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


What is your AROS box?
Guest_
A few threads in recent times have made me curious about this. Im not so interested in cpu/clock speeds (although feel free to include them if you like), but what is your AROS box made up of? Im mostly interested to hear what gfx/sound/network people are using.

The point,... none really. Im just curious what the most used hardware for AROS is.

Im personally using a GF9600GT, SB Audigy (didnt even know it was supported until a few days ago), and an old p.o.s pcnet32 based nic (some sort of 3com card). (Core2duo@3.86ghz/3gig ram).

Posted on: 2011/8/21 3:37
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2008/1/7 12:41
From Poland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2332
Offline
PIV 2.4 Ghz, GF 6200, 512MB RAM, AC97 onboard, SIS650 LAN onboard. I basically bought this computer for 50 euros as dev box and it turned out everything is supported out-of-the-box.

Posted on: 2011/8/21 4:18
_________________
Krzysztof

"There is no such thing as software for free. If it is not the user who covers the cost of software creation with money, it is the developer who covers this cost with his own free time."

www.aros3d.org
www.twitter.com/ddeadwood
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2011/3/15 15:55
From London
Group:
Member
Posts: 877
Offline
Well, I couldn't find suitable BOX to host my AROS:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/photo2168.jpg/

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/855/photo2167.jpg/

----------------------------------------------------------
Boxless Aros

WinFast K8S755A - network and sound works (rtl8169, ac97)
CPU AMD Athlon64 3000+
1.5 GB RAM
NVidia Geforce FX5200 128MB
SoundBlaster Live

----------------------------------------------------------

Aros/Linux/Haiku Laptop

IBM Thinkpad X30
CPU Pentium III 1.2 GHz
384 MB RAM
Intel graphics - vesa
network works - intelpro100
sound works - ac97

----------------------------------------------------------

Coming soon:

Aros Box

AOpen MX46 U2-CN
(graphics vesa,network sis900, sound ac97)
CPU Pentium 4 - 2.6GHz

Aros tiny box:
Intel atom mini ITX + CF card

-----------------------------------------------------------

Posted on: 2011/8/21 4:47

Edited by mt12345 on 2011/8/21 10:01:00
Edited by mt12345 on 2011/8/21 10:07:03
Edited by mt12345 on 2011/8/21 17:36:25
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2006/7/15 23:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 560
Offline
AMD 6000+
Onbaord HD Audio works
Lan not working
SATA works pre icaros 1.3
I have GF220 or GTX460 but neither are supported

Posted on: 2011/8/21 5:02
_________________
It's Brutal! - OWB
AROS, "genetically engineering horses into a race of sunshine-farting unicorns."
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 3654
Offline
My desktop box:

Athlon64 X2 5200+
2 GB of RAM
GeForce 7800 512 MB
60 GB IDE hard drive
DVD burner

My notebooks:

Compaq Presario N610c with 1 GB of RAM
Acer AspireOne A150 netbook

...and a bunch of virtual machines here and there...

Posted on: 2011/8/21 7:45
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2052
Offline
@mt12345

Heh heh. I have a VIA board I use for tests without a box too. I also have an AspireOne A110 and a P4 desktop whose components frequently change

Posted on: 2011/8/21 8:22
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3459
Offline
As you all know I have ACER aspire one 110 as my main hardware, but also have a big-box. Nvidia GTS250, AMD X2 3.1GHz, 2G ram, Gigabyte main board where networking is supported by AROS. For sound the same mainboard is working, but I also have a much nicer soundcard called ESI Juli@. I also have some soundblaster cards that I use from time to time.

Posted on: 2011/8/21 9:34
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2009/9/27 22:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 890
Offline
Pny Gf6200 256vram
Audigy 2zs
P4 3ghz - 512ram
Msi - Intelchipset
Eizo 20" monitor
Logitech G51 speakers
Logitech dual action joypad
Antec full tower - black

Posted on: 2011/8/21 10:23
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 3654
Offline
I've accidentally deleted a PM from someone who was asking how performance are on this system:

Quote:

Compaq Presario N610c with 1 GB of RAM


here is the answer: overally decent, but poor for any heavy duty like emulation, sound and video editing, etc. There's no Gallium3D support since it uses a Radeon card, and native ATI driver from Bearsoft should work only with external screens. There's a noisy short scratch every time an application accesses the AC97 audio chip but everything else is fine, from network to USB.

Please notice some N610c may have a different configuration: ClusterUK bought one some months ago, but it didn't work as expected.

Posted on: 2011/8/22 1:33
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: What is your AROS box?

Joined:
2011/8/15 7:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 21
Offline
This is my first Aros (Icaros) box:
- Asus P5DL2
- Pentium D 3.2 GHz
- 3 GB RAM
- Nvidia 7800GT
- Hitachi 160GB Sata
- TP-Link (Realtek 8139)
- Audio on board works (Realtek ALC882)

Posted on: 2011/8/22 7:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3654
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3459
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3011
4 magorium
magorium
2952
5 deadwood
deadwood
2332
6 mazze
mazze
2068
7 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2052
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2050
9 damocles
damocles
1769
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1709
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec