Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
11 user(s) are online (10 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 11

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 2 3 (4)


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2010/10/8 11:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 113
Offline
Virtualbox works for me if:

* The VM has System/MotherBoard/Chipset = PIIX3

* I boot with a grub command line of 'ATA=nolegacy ahci'

There seems to be a bug with the ATA drivers and Virtualbox's legacy IDE ports.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 7:07
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2010/10/8 11:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 113
Offline
Quote:

darkstar wrote:

Read error -4 on block 0

I am using an ASUS P8P67-LE intel socket 1155 motherboard with ICH10


Sounds like you've run into the 'APIC only interrupts' problem with AROS on pc-i386.

That error is due to reads timing out because the APIC interrupt specified in the PCI device's configuration isn't handled by AROS.

Someone should really fix that. It's getting harder and harder to find systems that correctly support legacy (IRQ < 16) interrupts.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 7:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2010/11/30 9:28
Group:
Member
Posts: 4
Offline
Hi Jason,

i have to correct my last posting.
Firstly i have accidently tested today with the nightly from yesterday (2012-10-16)
With nightly from today (2012-10-17) AHCI is working in Virtualbox, if i use only SATA Controller.
If i use only IDE Controller it is also working, but enabling both kind of Controllers crashes AROS


Posted on: 2012/10/17 13:22
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2006/4/7 1:34
Group:
Member
Posts: 467
Offline
Hi Jason,

yesterdays NB_ABI V0 works here on VirtualBox 4.1.22.

Attach file:



jpg  AROS_ABI_V0_AHCI1.jpg (120.66 KB)
645_507f1db035c0a.jpg 1280X770 px

Posted on: 2012/10/17 14:05
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2008/11/15 15:27
Group:
Member
Posts: 514
Offline
Its definitely closer than the last time I tried the nightlys, but still not usable on my machine. Using the Oct 17th nightlys, I'm also seeing is that an AFFS requester comes up with "read error -4 on block 0" and if I cancel that "read error -4 on block 8257032" and these two requesters repeat multiple times under either ABI with either native (IntelGMA) or VESA graphics. Eventually after enough cancels, the system starts to boot along further, ending in some strange state. In one case a boot shell that doesn't have any usable commands. Another time dead at the sponsored by imica splash screen.

In another case it came up with a shell that actually saw the live cdrom as volume ca0: when I tried the info command, so I typed execute s:startup-sequence and it came up to a wanderer screen after cancelling some cd-rom is write protected errors, and the workbench wants to close all windows message. Installaros failed to format/partition the drive that I had attached, so I couldn't install fresh from the nightly.

I guess I should try formatting and partitioning the hard drive for AROS outside the ahci driver and see if it is then visible when ahci is enabled.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 19:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2010/10/8 11:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 113
Offline
Quote:

I'm also seeing is that an AFFS requester comes up with "read error -4 on block 0" and if I cancel that "read error -4 on block 8257032"


You also have the APIC interrupt delivery problem. Until AROS pc-i386 has APIC support, this cannot be resolved.

The problem is that the BIOS is setting the PCI interrupt line on the AHCI PCI device to an APIC interrupt (16 or higher).

You may want to try altering some BIOS settings related to interrupt routing (ie 'Legacy interrupts', or something like that), until AROS pc-i386 has APIC support.

If you can run Linux on this machine (or a *BSD), try running

# lspci -vvv | egrep '(^[0-9]|Interrupt)'

That should list all of the PCI devices and their interrupt routing.

Posted on: 2012/10/17 19:42
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3451
Offline
I also have the APIC interrupt problem. That is damed shame :(

I don't have any BIOS options to change it either. What does it take to get APIC support ? Should we set up a bounty for it ?

Posted on: 2012/10/18 14:44
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2010/10/8 11:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 113
Offline
Quote:

nikolaos wrote:
I don't have any BIOS options to change it either. What does it take to get APIC support ? Should we set up a bounty for it ?


There (appears) to be APIC support in ABIv1 - it should be a Small Matter of Programming to backport it to ABIv0.

I'll play around with it. Maybe it won't be so hard as to require a bounty.

Posted on: 2012/10/18 15:57
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AHCI

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3451
Offline
Ezrec: That would be much appreciated. Thank you for your hard work. I think that with AHCI more hardware will boot AROS :)

Posted on: 2012/10/19 5:19
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 2 3 (4)



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3638
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3451
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
2991
4 magorium
magorium
2869
5 deadwood
deadwood
2315
6 mazze
mazze
2059
7 clusteruk
clusteruk
2052
8 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2051
9 damocles
damocles
1788
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1711
© 2004-2013 AROS Exec