Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
24 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 24

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
I just installed Aros to my Dell D410. Just wiped the hard drive and did a full install.

It seems everything works except for both of my network adaptors!. Aaarrrghh!.

The wireless is an Intel Pro/100.
Built in is a Netextreme BCM 5751.

Are either one of these supported?. Suggestions of a cheap add on card I could use?.

Photobucket

Posted on: 2012/3/20 8:00
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 3650
Offline
The intel pro 100 should work...

Posted on: 2012/3/20 8:29
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3454
Offline
Spihunter: You have 2 options. Either buy external USB wifi card. Can be found here:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/WiFi-Wireless ... ain_0&hash=item27bfd0895b

Or you change the internal wifi card that is for sure more difficult, but also more convinient for the future.
What I don't know is the size of your internal wifi card, in worst cast it would not fit.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Acer-Aspire-O ... 27c2aa2849#ht_4015wt_1185

Posted on: 2012/3/20 8:29
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK, So today I tried Aros on my Dell D430 and got the same results. Video ,Audio, and USB all seem supported but neither of my network interfaces work.

Internal ethernet is the same as the Dell D410
but Wireless on this one is an Intel 3945ABG:

I'm having trouble telling if the Atheros card in the auction that Nikolaos linked to is the same size as my current card?. What do you guys think?.

Photobucket

Posted on: 2012/3/21 7:24
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3454
Offline
Spihunter: I'm quite sure it is the same size.

Try this one. Free shipping 6.99$

At least you will not be robbed ;)


http://www.ebay.com/itm/ATHEROS-AR5BX ... 3f1439e776#ht_2024wt_1490

Posted on: 2012/3/21 7:58
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
Hey Thanks nikolaos!.

I'm going to see if I can locate one on the US ebay site. It might get here a little quicker! ;)

Posted on: 2012/3/21 8:16
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2052
Offline
Quote:

spihunter wrote:
I just installed Aros to my Dell D410. Just wiped the hard drive and did a full install.

It seems everything works except for both of my network adaptors!. Aaarrrghh!.

The wireless is an Intel Pro/100.


No, it's not. PRO/100 is a wired adapter. It might be Pro Wireless (which AROS doesn't support).

Posted on: 2012/3/21 10:29
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
@ncafferkey,

My bad. you are right. it is just an Intel Pro wireless.
That explains why it didn't work. ;)

I just ordered a ATHEROS AR5BXB63 wireless card that was pulled from a dismantled Acer Aspire One.

Set me back US $3.99 shipping included! :)

Posted on: 2012/3/21 10:39
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK, I put in my new wireless adaptor into my dell D430 and thanks to ncafferkey everything is working perfect.

GMA 1280x800 16bit screenmode
HDaudio: HiFi 16bit Stereo++
Wireless Network
USB

All work!

Looks like a Dell D430 could be an even cheaper and quicker laptop then a netbook for AROS?. It's only a little bit bigger.

Photobucket

Posted on: 2012/3/27 12:22
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Aros on my Dell D410........Damn! almost perfect.

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3454
Offline
spihunter: yes, for sure seams more powerfull than netbooks. Why do you run 16 bit, does not 24 bit work ?

Could you do some tests ?

Go to sys:extras/demos/mesa and run gears. Rem.. to set stack size to something like 50000 before running the demo.

Posted on: 2012/3/27 14:13
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3650
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3454
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3011
4 magorium
magorium
2950
5 deadwood
deadwood
2331
6 mazze
mazze
2068
7 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2052
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2050
9 damocles
damocles
1769
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1709
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec