Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 4 ... 11 »


X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2009/6/5 2:50
From dax (landes, france)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1182
Offline
Hi,

I discovered on french amiga forum :

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xamos/

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=61693


It seems to be a modern version of Amos, using SDL and C++. Maybe this is THE game oriented beginner developement tool we expected for aros future ?


If in the future we can have this one :

http://game-editor.com/Main_Page


this one :

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xamos/


And maybe (let dream!) a script based demotool (geexlab, or other opengl oriented demotools) I guess it would be a great thing for Aros.

I know it's very difficult to develop or create something big and pro, but it's important in another point of view : showing that aros has a "scene" with not only big mainstream ports (for example, having greats games like doom3 is a great advertisement for our system), but also some amateur devs wich create little things that they can share and present on all forums, creating interest, etc, etc...





Posted on: 2012/5/26 14:05
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2009/9/27 22:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 1025
Offline
Seems xamos needs Boost. Also there is no editor atm, only runtime.

Posted on: 2012/5/26 15:45
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2010/3/6 3:42
Group:
Member
Posts: 116
Offline

Posted on: 2012/5/26 20:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2010/1/8 10:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 1412
Offline
Amos was my 1st programming langauge & brings back the memories lol.
just seen bob after all them years..

we need xamos in aros for basic coders coz its one easy and got me to learn programming....

Posted on: 2012/5/27 2:41
_________________
Lets build not destroy
http://serk118.blogspot.co.uk/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2009/6/5 2:50
From dax (landes, france)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1182
Offline
I agree. I've seen PortabIE, but it's too complex for me. I have not enough spare time to learn it, it will take ages before I can produce anything.

I want to contribute on aros project more intensively than just testing stuff, but regarding my skills, it's not that easy ! LOL

Posted on: 2012/5/27 3:18
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2005/7/8 7:04
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 419
Offline
I started out on AMOS on the Amiga. I had been programming some small routines on C=64 before that, in basic, but Amiga Basic was too hard to learn for me (I was 9 years old when I got my first Amiga 500). When I got my hands on AMOS, I couldn't put it down. I quickly got the basics of how to make real programs, and small games.

I released a full game onto the Aminet in 1997 (I was 17). Then some years later I went on to C.

I was never more productive than I was with AMOS - at least when it came to making games. Once you get into it, it's so easy to get your thoughts down, it's crazy. Entry-level programming has gone backwards if you ask me. Python is touted as a basic improvement. I don't agree at all...

Anyway, XAMOS looks like a great initiative :) It would be very welcome on AROS! Sometimes, I still find myself programming in AMOS on my A2000. You don't need a custom editor for XAMOS on AROS, just use the one in sys:tools, it's more than good enough. Basic is interpreted after all. As long as it can interpret text, it's all good :D

Posted on: 2012/5/27 10:04
_________________
...
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2005/8/17 16:00
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 2204
Offline
Hurry up. Joint the Xamos project and turn it into the best amos basic clone ever.

Posted on: 2012/5/27 12:45
_________________
AROS - Make code, not war
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2005/8/17 16:00
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 2204
Offline
Giggle. How to silence a thread: tell'em to do some work

Posted on: 2012/6/3 9:55
_________________
AROS - Make code, not war
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2009/6/5 2:50
From dax (landes, france)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1182
Offline
If I was able to port it myself, I'd do it, but unfortunatly I'm a complete noob ^^

Posted on: 2012/6/7 10:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: X-Amos : aros compatible ?

Joined:
2009/9/27 22:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 1025
Offline
The Xamos author is removing the Boost dependency and is interested in a MorphOs port. Perhaps he would be interested in an Aros port as well?

http://www.morphzone.org/modules/newb ... hp?topic_id=8480&forum=12

Posted on: 2012/6/7 21:31
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 4 ... 11 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4338
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2612
7 mazze
mazze
2204
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2066
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2023
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec