Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 1

Kalamatee, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
Good old 0.0.0.0:0. It looks like the networking really is broken.

Posted on: 2012/7/19 11:26
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2004/5/16 23:01
Group:
Member
Posts: 1199
Offline
I've not had a chance to test this yet, but I did want to say thank you! Quake II is the cat's meow!!!

Posted on: 2012/7/19 11:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
Meanwhile I tried connecting to a few servers, and it worked. I checked Darkplaces too, and I also binds to the 0.0.0.0:0 address. The problem is somewhere with my network setup, and there's nothing wrong with Quake2. I'll have to do some more testing to be sure.

Edit: I tried a couple of other servers, mostly modded ones. OpenTDM works, which seems to be rather popular. Action Quake looks okay too, but it's a real pain to find the right server. Most of them have the UDP netchan downloads disabled, and use R1Q2's HTTP downloads exclusively. Hopefully Yamagi Quake 2 will be updated to support this, and the anti-cheat stuff. The site lists it among the planned features.

Posted on: 2012/7/19 12:21

Edited by BSzili on 2012/7/19 14:32:10
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2010/3/6 3:42
Group:
Member
Posts: 116
Offline
One day, BSzilli, I'm going to meet you at an Aros or Amiga get-together or something, and you're going to go home very very drunk.

Posted on: 2012/7/19 16:19
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
I always loved the faux-texture filtering in Unreal's software renderer, dubbed ordered "texture coordinate space" dither by Tim Sweeney. Since the dither kernel was published, I decided to implement it in the Quake2 software renderer. With the help of Fabien Sanglard, and a little trial and error, I have succeded! It almost halves the framerate, so I have to optimize it a bit before I release it. Here are a few before/after screenshots:

Click to see original Image in a new window
Click to see original Image in a new window
Click to see original Image in a new window
Click to see original Image in a new window

It's currently only applied to opaque world surfaces. I don't think aliases (enemies, powerups, barrels, etc) would benefit from it, except maybe the player's gun. I'm not sure if it's worth implementing it for translucent surfaces (water, glass, etc).

Posted on: 2012/7/25 6:46
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
Okay, the new version is ready. The link is the same, you can download it from my AROS ports site.

It includes the aforementioned software renderer, with the Unreal-like texture smoothing. If you prefer the old look, you can turn it off in the Video menu, or with the r_texturesmooth CVAR. I spent some time optimizing it, and the performance is much better now. Here are a few timedemo speeds:

demo1.dm2, 1024x640, with texture smoothing: 60 fps
demo1.dm2, 1024x640, without texture smoothing: 71 fps

demo2.dm2, 1024x640, with texture smoothing: 58,4 fps
demo2.dm2, 1024x640, without texture smoothing: 66 fps

I have a decent CPU, so feel free to post your timedemo speeds :)

The custom resolution support is likely to be broken in the software renderer, pick a resolution from the Video menu to be safe.

I also included SOs for two popular online mods: Action Quake2 and OpenTDM.

Posted on: 2012/7/26 7:43
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/3/7 1:41
From Nürnberg, Deutschland
Group:
Member
Posts: 1355
Offline
thank you for your work

Posted on: 2012/7/26 8:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2006/4/7 1:34
Group:
Member
Posts: 657
Offline
We are proud to have you on board BSzili! Thank you for your great ports!

Posted on: 2012/7/26 9:04
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
A small update: I fixed an oversight in the software renderer, which caused the "duplicate pixel" look when the texture smoothing was turned on. Now it works exactly like in Unreal.

edit: I just noticed that the mod support broke. I haven't even touched it, or anything remotely related to it. The base game is still playable, I'll fix this soon.

Posted on: 2012/7/27 2:39

Edited by BSzili on 2012/7/27 4:23:07
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Quake II

Joined:
2011/9/25 1:23
From Hungary
Group:
Member
Posts: 1509
Offline
After some testing I noticed a very serious bug. If you use the software renderer, some enemies will essentially become blind. They wont attack you until you fire your weapon, even if you stand right in from of them. I'll try to find out what causes this. The game logic (game.so) seems to be innocent, I tried an other version compiled from the Amiga Quake2 sources, and the problem was still there.

Posted on: 2012/7/27 6:13
_________________
My AROS&MorphOS ports
Arguments that explain everything... explain nothing.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4405
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 nikolaos
nikolaos
3966
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3903
5 deadwood
deadwood
2917
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2779
7 mazze
mazze
2221
8 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2139
9 clusteruk
clusteruk
2112
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2018 AROS Exec