Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 1

trekiej, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 9 »


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
Quote:

miker wrote:
New Link

Thank you, that worked (i knew about the popup).

Looking good there .

Are you loading the data using system calls or are you loading things manually from .info file ?

Reason to ask is that AROS supports multiple icons formats that can be present inside an .info file (png for instance).

Posted on: 5/5 13:42
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 162
Offline
Loading data manually by reading files directly.

Posted on: 5/5 13:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 162
Offline
@Ilbarbax

So that I understand...

Will a Windows exe work for you to open ICO and extract all to PNG?

Or does it need to be an AROS executable?

Or do you just need to know how to extract bitmap data from ICO files?

Or are you talking about .INFO files to extract PNG data?

The last one should be easier. Look for IM1 and IM2 markers.

Posted on: 5/5 13:46
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
Quote:

miker wrote:
Loading data manually by reading files directly.

Ok, thanks. For convenience, my icon-type enumerator looks like:

TIconDiskFormat =
  (
    
idfUnknown,
    
idfV10,      // Classic icon format with old_drawerdata structure
    
idfV20,      // Classic icon format + do_drawer amiga OS2.x extension (these stored directly after xxx)
    
idfV35,      // also known as glowicons, NewIcon format but as added iff extension, not as tooltype
    
idfNewIcon,  // NewIcon stored as tooltype
    
idfPowerIcon // used in AROS but also Amiga OS4, introduced as PowerIcons
  
);


And a typical output of my icon-processor:
Quote:

stats:
invalid : 37
valid : 3867
--------------- +
total = 3904

Unknown Format : 0
OS v1.x Format : 1693
OS v2.x Format : 105
OS v3.5 Format : 96
NewIcon Format : 0
PNG Format : 1973

Undefined icons : 0
Disk icons : 19
Tool icons : 970
Drawer icons : 978
Project icons : 1900
Other : 0


My "problem" is that i did not add support for extracting graphics as i do not need it. It was meant to extract tool-types and icons specific tags only.

Posted on: 5/5 13:59

Edited by origami on 2017/5/5 14:45:49
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2009/1/17 11:30
From Camogli GE Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 149
Offline
Aros of course. I'm mainly an os4 and aros user. For os4 I sorted out the problem while for aros I'm stuck.

I need to extract the picture from the info file. Mi program is a replacement of amidock or amistart. If you want to have a n idea you can look the grab in os4depot searching for wheelrun

Posted on: 5/5 13:59
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
Sorry, my name is not Ilbarbax, but i can answer a few.

Quote:

Will a Windows exe work for you to open ICO and extract all to PNG?

Not really

Quote:

Or does it need to be an AROS executable?

That would be the idea, yes

Quote:

Or do you just need to know how to extract bitmap data from ICO files?

afaik Ilbarbax is specifically interested in amiga/aros .info files

Quote:

Or are you talking about .INFO files to extract PNG data?

Whatever is available inside the .info file. Just as long as it can extract a picture for usage in his own program.

Quote:

The last one should be easier. Look for IM1 and IM2 markers.

Wrong well, tbh it is not the complete story

What i find odd is that hollywood scripting language would no be capable of making system calls so that Ilbarbax is able to extract the actual image data himself.

Posted on: 5/5 14:03
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 162
Offline
AROS icons are actually renamed PNG files.
But if you want icons with two states, normal and selected, use this command:

join img_1.png img_2.png TO img.info


DOS CLI Command: Join

Format: Join File/M/A AS=TO/K/A
Purpose: Join two or files together.
Parameters: FileFile(s) to join together,To|asDestination file
Example: Join File1 File2 File3 as FileFull

Therefore the resulting .info PNG icon file may merely be two "Joined"
PNG images which might easily be "Split" in a similar manner?

Look at the binary of two PNG images then use CLI> Join then look at
the binary of .info to see if they are merely two PNG's with File Headers, etc.
This is a good place to start.

Posted on: 5/5 16:37
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
@miker:
Yes, thanks. I know as the tool is now extracting the information between those two png images

Posted on: 5/5 16:44
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 162
Offline
Great. So you got it to work with PNG icons?

What is your Icon Enumerator/Extractor called? That might be very useful for verifying icon sets.

Yep! I just tried it also.

Do you know what I am starting to REALLY like about Icaros Desktop? Some of it is so dang easy!!

Who would have thought?...two PNG images stacked one on top of the other. There is no extra data like OS 3.5 .info files. Simply find "PNG" minus 1 byte, read data. Find again for image2 read and save data to PNG files. Easy!

Posted on: 5/5 17:19

Edited by miker on 2017/5/5 18:00:56
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
It already worked with png icons since 2014

I just need to add an abstracted way to extract the image data (so it can do that for all supported icon types).

Uhm, the enumerator tool is simply named listicon.

And i remember/discovered why i stopped developing this tool. I needed a more common way to add support for adding a LFORMAT parameter (just as the command line tool list does in case you wish to check what that does).

I have just recently 'developed' a common way of adding such LFORMAT parameter, so i will see if i am able to incorporate that (keep in mind, no API dependencies so the solution is cross-platform).

But, i'll focus on the data extraction first. Perhaps write a separate tool for that first (e.g. match ilbarbax requirements).

Posted on: 5/5 17:50
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 9 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4365
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3893
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3694
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2648
7 mazze
mazze
2214
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2111
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2024
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec