Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 ... 5 6 7 (8) 9 »


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
@wawa:
yes that would mean a 'delay'. But i was not expecting for you to 'pick up' the burden.

If that is the case then i would probably advise (if you haven't thought of it yourself already) to use whatever software is at your disposal for whatever platform.

We can work something out with regards to turn the results into amiga-compatible icons. e.g. in case existing/available tools are not sufficient or special requirements are needed. That is, if the generated results are not stored in a too exotic format.

Posted on: 5/31 4:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 879
Offline
i have used grafx2 which is the best planar package with iff support out there imho. its very goos. still, i want to reduce workflow otherwise ill spend years just swapping data there and back. im looking towards using an amiga icon tool or combination of those. right now i need to figure out how to cut down palette to a desirable depth of say 8 mui colors.

Posted on: 5/31 6:37
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 70
Offline
I have two icon programs that I am porting to AROS. The first is "PNG Icon Edit" and the second is "PNG Icon Paint". You've probably seen the first one but here it is again and the paint program also. It may take a while to convert it to C code but it will be a nice addition to the growing list of AROS tools.

http://aros-exec.org/home/arosexec/ar ... he/6991_592f193258f9f.png

http://aros-exec.org/home/arosexec/ar ... he/6991_592f1994ab24d.png




Attach file:



png  New Icon Editor v2_07-31-16.png (90.10 KB)
6991_592f193258f9f.png 748X556 px

png  IFF Icon Edit_ILBM 5bpp.png (53.85 KB)
6991_592f1994ab24d.png 586X288 px

Posted on: 5/31 12:24
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 70
Offline
As far as Icon Tools, here is the Icon2PNG tool that can be used from the AROS shell to extract PNG images from PNG Icons.

http://aros-exec.org/home/arosexec/ar ... he/6991_592f1ad5be3d5.zip

Just remove the .zip extension before use.

Usage: [Program(path+Icon2PNG)] [Icon(path+file.info)] [Optional Output Image1 (path+file.png)] [Optional Output Image2 (path+file.png)]

If optional output paths are not used both icon images will be extracted to Ram Disk:


Attach file:


zip Icon2PNG.zip Size: 17.19 KB; Hits: 14

Posted on: 5/31 12:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Thanks miker :thumbsup:

On my first encounter i got myself into trouble:
icon2png + enter

Output:
===========================================
  
Icon2Png V1.0 by Mike R. - May2017
===========================================
[
cursor]


Trace:
[KRNException 0xC0000005SysBase 0x029503b0KernelBase 0x029510e8
[KRNProcess 0x029f67b0 (Icon2PNG)
    
ContextFlags0x0001003F
    ESP
=032c1ac8  EBP=032c1ac8  EIP=02a343e8
    EAX
=00000000  EBX=029503b0  ECX=032c1bec  EDX=00000000
    EDI
=029f67b0  ESI=032c1c5c  EFLAGS=00010246
*** Logged alert:
Program failed
Task 
0x029F67B0 Icon2PNG
Error
0x80000002 Hardware bus fault/address error
PC   
0x02A343E8
Module Icon2PNG Segment 1 
.text (0x02A32C40Offset 0x000017A8
Function strlen (0x02A343E0Offset 0x00000008
CPU context
:
EAX=0x00000000  EBX=0x029503B0  ECX=0x032C1BEC  EDX=0x00000000
ESI
=0x032C1C5C  EDI=0x029F67B0  ESP=0x032C1AC8  EBP=0x032C1AC8
EIP
=0x02A343E8  ESP=0x032C1AC8  EFLAGS=0x00010246
CS
=001B  SS=0023  DS=0023
ES
=0023  FS=003B  GS=0000
Stack trace
:
0x02A33242 Icon2PNG Function getFileNameFromPath 0x00000018
0x02A3366B Icon2PNG 
Function main 0x000000BA
0x02A32D94 Icon2PNG 
Function __startup_entry 0x00000154
0x028AD770 dos
.library Function CallEntry 0x00000050
0x02839AA8 aros
-bsp-mingw32 Function Exec_134_NewStackSwap 0x000000A9
0x028B3B30 dos
.library Function Dos_84_RunCommand 0x000000F0
0x02A231B7 UserShell
-Seg Function checkLine 0x000005F7
0x02A23A8E UserShell
-Seg Function interact 0x0000033E
0x02A23BFE UserShell
-Seg Function _shell_ShellStart 0x0000010E
0x02A2283D UserShell
-Seg Function ShellStart 0x000000ED

Did you perhaps forgot to check the validity of the argument(string) ? (I'm assuming that you used c's argv and not used amigados commandline template).

Posted on: 5/31 19:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 70
Offline
Did you enter the full path of the program? It has minimal error checking at the moment. If you just cd to the path + program such as "Work:programs/Icon2Png" then only enter the command 'Icon2Png' with no args it will say "cannot open icon file".

I forgot to mention that you must be in the same directory as the program 'Icon2Png' or copy it to your 'C' directory to make it executable. Try that instead of (path + program name).

Posted on: 5/31 20:40

Edited by miker on 2017/5/31 21:09:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Quote:

Did you enter the full path of the program?

Outcome seems to be the same for me, with or without full path.

strlen() seems to have been fed a nil pointer and that would fail.

Quote:

It has minimal error checking at the moment.

Yes, i've noticed

That is why i did not bring those up, as i understand.

Minimal required functionality, at least imho, would be that if no arguments are provided that the program does not crash.

Quote:

If you just enter the path + program name such as "Work:programs/Icon2Png" it will say "cannot open icon file or file is not valid".

In case that is intended then something seems to be going wrong for me.

Quote:

On the other hand, if you feed it the incorrect path for Icon2Png it can't check that.

Please forgive my ignorance, but i seem to fail in understanding why providing a full path to the executable would be required. In case you are in need of the path to your executable then you can either use argv[0] or (oops, that is Pascal specific) use Amiga dos api calls.

I'm more than happy to be of assistance there (although my ramblings are usually written in Pascal).

edit: Something like this should be able to help you out:
procedure GetFullExePath;
var
  
NameLock   BPTR;
  
NameBuffer : array[0..255of char;
  
ErrorCode  LongInt;
begin
  NameLock 
:= GetProgramDir();
  if (
NameLock <> BNULLthen
  begin
    
if NameFromLock(NameLock, @NameBuffer[0], Length(NameBuffer)) then
    begin
      WriteLn
('nameFromLock() succeeded and returned "'PChar(@NameBuffer[0]), '"');
    
end
    
else
    
begin
      ErrorCode 
:= IoErr();
      
WriteLn('Error: NameFromLock() failed with error code = 'ErrorCode);
    
end;
  
end
  
else WriteLn('Error: GetProgramDir() returned an invalid lock');
end;

In case something is not clear then please feel free to ask.

I am not 100% sure BNULL constant is used in C to check if a BPTR is valid or not.

Posted on: 5/31 20:53

Edited by origami on 2017/5/31 21:17:28
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 70
Offline
Origami,

Sorry for the misinformation. Copy the program to your 'C' directory or cd to the directory containing the program and issue commands there. It works for me. I'll post source code tomorrow after a little cleanup so you can see what it does.

The next revision will do better checking of paths and filenames as well as remove the 'Ic0n' chunk. For example, Multiview can open these Png images after extracting from an icon, but it fails to save due to the Ic0n data! That's a problem with Multiview.

There is something that you may be able to help with. How to isolate a path without the filename.

Email me or message me if you'd like.

Posted on: 5/31 21:21

Edited by miker on 2017/6/1 6:55:03
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
@miiker:
I've sended an e-mail concerning your question.

PS: due to the spam-bots being hyper active lately, you might want to consider removing your e-mail address asap.

Posted on: 5/31 21:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Are icotools available for AROS?

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Quote:

wawa wrote:
... used grafx2 .... right now i need to figure out how to cut down palette to a desirable depth of say 8 mui colors.

Ok, ofc. i do not know your current work-flow, but i am a bit confused.

You simply use the first 8 colors in the palette and grafx automatically reduces bitmap depth to 3 planes ?

Not disputing your request for a good icon editor, because i agree to that

Posted on: 6/3 20:03
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 ... 5 6 7 (8) 9 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4331
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2599
7 mazze
mazze
2202
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2065
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2018
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec