Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2004/4/11 11:57
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 667
Offline
How should be set the voice "Plug and play OS" for better AROS compatibility?
Will AROS change his behaviour changing that value? And what will change for other OSes?

Posted on: 1/14 15:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 483
Offline
that is indeed quite an interesting question that's been haunting me all my (computer)life. I never noticed any difference, whether "plug'n'play OS" is enabled in BIOS, or not, and with any operating system. if anyone could explain what that switch does, and how it may affect AROS, or any other OS, I'd be happy to learn something new.

Posted on: 1/14 20:59
_________________
http://amigaalive.blogspot.de/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2012/5/29 7:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 583
Offline
The option simply defines whether the OS, or the bios assigns hardware.

Posted on: 1/15 0:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2004/4/11 11:57
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 667
Offline
Quote:

beezle wrote:
The option simply defines whether the OS, or the bios assigns hardware.


I know this. I need to know which setting is better for AROS and what changes for other OSes. What would happen if I install Windows with one setting and change that after it was installed? AROS shouldn't care about this at install time, but which setting is better? Can AROS handle all the interrupt by itself?

Sorry, I can't explain better than this.

Posted on: 1/15 4:41
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2012/5/29 7:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 583
Offline
The "correct" setting would be disabled for pretty much any OS in use today.
It seldom hurts how its set though. The entry is pretty much legacy these days.

Posted on: 1/15 6:05
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2004/3/29 9:54
From Scotland "The Cold"
Group:
Member
Posts: 2012
Offline
Quote:

beezle wrote:
The "correct" setting would be disabled for pretty much any OS in use today.
It seldom hurts how its set though. The entry is pretty much legacy these days.


Erm no, it would be enabled for any OS today - it says if the BIOS needs to manually configure IRQs and such for certain devices (legacy) or if the operating system is up to date enough to handle it.

Posted on: 1/15 10:26
_________________
Click to see original Image in a new window
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2012/5/29 7:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 583
Offline
Nope, it should be "disabled". Disabled meaning the OS does the assigning.

Posted on: 1/16 3:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2004/3/29 9:54
From Scotland "The Cold"
Group:
Member
Posts: 2012
Offline
Quote:

beezle wrote:
Nope, it should be "disabled". Disabled meaning the OS does the assigning.


HAHAHA! what a ridiculous statement. PNP OS means the OS is plug and play and can configure the hardware based on ACPI tables. When its enabled a small subset of hardware is configured by the BIOS and the OS does the rest. That's why AROS doesn't work with MSI hardware when PNP OS is enabled in the BIOS.

Its not something open for discussion or misinterpretation - that's literally what the option means and is well documented as such.

p.s - for AROS purposes, it should be disabled yes - but that because we don't support MSI currently.



Posted on: 1/16 3:53
_________________
Click to see original Image in a new window
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: BIOS and "plug and play os"?

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4281
Offline
Yep. Last time I needed to switch to "disabled", IIRC, I was experimenting some version of MS/DOS on more recent machine.

PNP OS should be "enabled" for any modern os.

Posted on: 1/17 6:39
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4281
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3670
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2574
7 mazze
mazze
2201
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2055
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2012
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec