Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 498
Offline
hi,

i'm getting some harddisk errors for some time now (weeks?), and I just had a bad harddisk crash (BIOS wouldn't recognize bootable disk anymore - after some resets, and a few minutes of shutdown it seems to work again).

this is suspicious to me, as I had just replaced the drive.

it's a SATA drive, with BIOS set to no ATA-emulation (I think). When installing AROS I selected "ata.device" (I think).

I'm wondering - what's the SATA-situation? AROS bug(s)? My fault?


Posted on: 1/17 17:44
_________________
http://amigaalive.de
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4340
Offline
Hmmm. Aren't you supposed to use ahci.device instead, when no ATA emulation occurs at the BIOS level?

Posted on: 1/18 2:20
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 498
Offline
umh, yes, I think so.
But if I recall correctly there was something wrong when selecting "AHCI/SATA" at install...

(...15 min. later... trying to re-install using "ACPI/SATA""...)

...yes, there is something wrong:
After selecting "ACPI/SATA" and "Wipe disk" (two partitions, first one 5GB, second one ("Work:") no size specified) a requester says "Partitioning of disk failed. InstallAROS will now quit", and a shell window says:

"Could not open root partition of device ahci.device, unit 0! Make sure that you provided correct device name and unit number. For example primary master IDE device will most likely map to ata.device, unit 0 and secondary slave to ata.device, unit 3. Error 100"

(note that I had selected "ACPI/SATA", and the shell window talks about "primary master IDE device.... ata.device....")

(referring to AROS nightly of 2016-11-21)

Posted on: 1/18 9:08

Edited by roMancer on 2017/1/19 10:04:31
_________________
http://amigaalive.de
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 498
Offline
hm. another harddisk just gone. (the third one.) this one was connected to ATA/IDE port, so this is not a SATA problem. computer worked flawlessly for hours and days.
anyone else having similar problems?

btw., I'm still wondering if AROS' ACPI/SATA is supposed to be usable and reliable nowadays?

Posted on: 2/6 9:18

Edited by roMancer on 2017/2/6 10:19:37
_________________
http://amigaalive.de
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 498
Offline
just for the sake of completeness here's a screenshot of what I've been experiencing (...latest harddisc is fine... so far... lol). the wide window / progress bar at the bottom is a "Format disk..." window. it looked as if it had completed (right edge reached), but then a couple of the error requesters showed up.

Attach file:



jpg  20170206_205555.jpg (242.92 KB)
312_589919d022519.jpg 1024X675 px

Posted on: 2/6 16:47
_________________
http://amigaalive.de
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2619
Offline
Use HDToolBox to check what disks AROS sees, and what devices it uses to access them.

The message in the shell window from the partitioning program refers to IDE devices because it's "For example".

Did you get the last screenshot with a real PATA disk?

Posted on: 2/8 7:54
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: SATA harddisk? crashes and errors

Joined:
2005/2/1 19:32
Group:
Member
Posts: 498
Offline
Quote:

ncafferkey wrote:
Use HDToolBox to check what disks AROS sees, and what devices it uses to access them.
...
Did you get the last screenshot with a real PATA disk?


yes.

HDToolBox (now with a new harddisk, but again attached to PATA) shows me what I'd expect: "ata.device" (white) -> harddisk name/type/id... -> Partition 0 -> Partition 0 -> DH0 and DH1

I always use the same procedure when installing AROS: virtualbox CDROM boot, install to USB-stick, boot AROS from USB-stick, install to harddisk with "wipe disk" and two partitions (3GB system, and the rest of it for work)

Posted on: 2/8 10:17
_________________
http://amigaalive.de
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4340
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2619
7 mazze
mazze
2211
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2091
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2023
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec