Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





How far is AROS to support VULKAN?

Joined:
2014/10/31 7:36
From Madrid
Group:
Member
Posts: 63
Offline


https://www.khronos.org/vulkan/adopters/

Vulkan is a very important step in the graphics development of AROS

Are there any requirements that can make it very dificult to port at this point?

Having our own implementation would cetainly improve performance, graphic development, and porting of apps & games

Posted on: 3/24 4:13
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: How far is AROS to support VULKAN?

Joined:
2004/3/29 9:54
From Scotland "The Cold"
Group:
Member
Posts: 2024
Offline
Quote:

x-vision wrote:


https://www.khronos.org/vulkan/adopters/

Vulkan is a very important step in the graphics development of AROS

Are there any requirements that can make it very dificult to port at this point?

Having our own implementation would cetainly improve performance, graphic development, and porting of apps & games


I've partly ported bits of vulkan when getting mesa 17 built, however the the driver code mostly needs libdrm related bits, so I haven't gone near it yet.

Posted on: 3/24 4:14
_________________
Click to see original Image in a new window
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: How far is AROS to support VULKAN?

Joined:
2014/10/31 7:36
From Madrid
Group:
Member
Posts: 63
Offline
Quote:

Kalamatee wrote:
Quote:

x-vision wrote:


https://www.khronos.org/vulkan/adopters/

Vulkan is a very important step in the graphics development of AROS

Are there any requirements that can make it very dificult to port at this point?

Having our own implementation would cetainly improve performance, graphic development, and porting of apps & games


I've partly ported bits of vulkan when getting mesa 17 built, however the the driver code mostly needs libdrm related bits, so I haven't gone near it yet.


Thanks for the info kalamatee. This one I presume: https://dri.freedesktop.org/libdrm/

Is it difficult to recompile?

But most important: Is an update of the graphic drivers and/or libraries on your near future agenda?

Posted on: 3/24 5:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: How far is AROS to support VULKAN?

Joined:
2004/3/29 9:54
From Scotland "The Cold"
Group:
Member
Posts: 2024
Offline
Quote:

x-vision wrote:
Quote:

Kalamatee wrote:
Quote:

x-vision wrote:


https://www.khronos.org/vulkan/adopters/

Vulkan is a very important step in the graphics development of AROS

Are there any requirements that can make it very dificult to port at this point?

Having our own implementation would cetainly improve performance, graphic development, and porting of apps & games


I've partly ported bits of vulkan when getting mesa 17 built, however the the driver code mostly needs libdrm related bits, so I haven't gone near it yet.


Thanks for the info kalamatee. This one I presume: https://dri.freedesktop.org/libdrm/


Yes. Different drivers use different parts of it.

Quote:

Is it difficult to recompile?


Quite a PITA. We need to rip out bits we use and overhaul them so they work for AROS.

Quote:

But most important: Is an update of the graphic drivers and/or libraries on your near future agenda?


I've updated all the code in my local tree except nouveau - since it also uses libdrm extensively, and would need much newer code ported to get the driver to build at all.... which is why I haven't committed the changes to AROS svn ;(

The amount of work/effort to do that is quite a lot, and with the the things I have on my agenda atm, I don't have time to invest in that just yet.

Softpipe and IntelGMA use the newer code so for instance doom3 runs a little better on them (some gfx issues with the current code on trunk disappear completely, like the doom3 logo)

see https://github.com/Kalamatee/mesa

Posted on: 3/24 5:37
_________________
Click to see original Image in a new window
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: How far is AROS to support VULKAN?

Joined:
2014/10/31 7:36
From Madrid
Group:
Member
Posts: 63
Offline
Quote:

Kalamatee wrote:
Quote:

x-vision wrote:
[quote]
Kalamatee wrote:
[quote]
x-vision wrote:
[quote]
Is it difficult to recompile?


Quite a PITA.



LOL, hope it can be done at some point

Quote:



The amount of work/effort to do that is quite a lot, and with the the things I have on my agenda atm, I don't have time to invest in that just yet.

Softpipe and IntelGMA use the newer code so for instance doom3 runs a little better on them (some gfx issues with the current code on trunk disappear completely, like the doom3 logo)

see https://github.com/Kalamatee/mesa


Sadly I am not programmer. I am videogames developer , but just designer and producer (here our latest project - no spam, we are not selling it yet - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWhpDNkyqdc ) and I dream of the day when I can port our developments to AROS. I would regardless of the profitability, just to support the platform, but for that I would need Unity 5.

I know that's an objective out of the scope for the moment, so I would be happy if at some point we could just have vulkan and Blender. That would be enough to produce some appealing games.

Posted on: 3/25 16:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4346
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3891
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2631
7 mazze
mazze
2214
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2103
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2024
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec