Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
3/3 13:00
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
i am using 1.14i version from command line but it hangs when trying to do a simple archive; i just run:

lha a package_name directory/

is there a bug?


Posted on: 3/28 3:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
afaik there is no lha version 1.14i for AROS (i386).

fwiw: using the default lha archiver that ships with nightly (i386) i was able to perform the command you showed and that worked as expected.

So, a bit more information would be required i guess. e.g. which version of AROS, for which architecture and the same information for the lha command that you are using.

Posted on: 3/28 4:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
3/3 13:00
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
I downloaded and installed zunearc for aros i386 because unable to find lha on my nightbuilds. It from command line tell me 1.14i, otherwise where is it?

thanks

Posted on: 3/28 5:40
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
Ah yes, ic. My Bad.

You are correct there Pasquale, there is a version 1.14i of lha command delivered with ZuneArc.

The same command-line options as showed by you still work for me with this version of lha, so the questions with regards to which exact version of AROS you are running still applies.

When you say "my nightbuilds" do you meant that you created your own builds or that you downloaded from the AROS website ?

fwiw: afaik lha is inside c directory. If not then it is part of contrib.

Posted on: 3/28 6:22
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
3/3 13:00
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
No, i downloaded one at Febrary, however lha some times works others no.

Try to make a big archive with a lot of different files.

Posted on: 3/28 6:57
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
Quote:

Pasquale wrote:
No, i downloaded one at Febrary,

afaik nothing drastically changed, so that shouldn't be a problem.

Quote:

however lha some times works others no.

Those are always tricky. Would be hard for me to state it works, but in practice so far it does work for me tm.

Quote:

Try to make a big archive with a lot of different files.

I have just compressed a 136 MB folder (largest file 7 MB, smallest 0 bytes, 410 files, 20 directories) with
your version of lha, which required about 158 MB of free memory (will be more when compressing to ram disk of course). Just remember: running out of ram = crash without any feedback.

You should at least receive some output as each file is compressed individually... but that isn't the case at all for you ?

Posted on: 3/28 7:38
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
3/3 13:00
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
I have a pc with 368mb ram, i am trying to make an archive of about 20/30mb but it hangs, shows me to reboot, suspend, etc... Unable to understand the cause.

Posted on: 3/28 7:47
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 321
Offline
When a Software failure requester pops up, there can be many things learned from it

At the Task description it tells which task is responsible for the crash.

At the error description it tells what kind of error occurred.

The module and function gives a bit more detail on which part of the task crashed and inside what function.

In case it is possible (not always the case) you can press the more button to generate a stack-trace which gives more details on how the task actually got there to end up in a crash.

There are also a lot of technical details mentioned, such as the values of the processor registers and at what memory locations the functions of the task are located that led up to the crash.

Every detail you are able to share with us would be helpful, if all else fails make a snapshot with a mobile phone or tablet and post it for us to see.

In case your issue is not with regards to running out of memory then the only other thing i can think of is disk/filesystem related issues -> the values from the requester you see should be able to tell us that (preferably with the stack-trace which is generated when you press the more button).

Posted on: 3/28 8:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4365
Offline
Hmmm... maybe a filename with exotic characters that lha can't handle? I got almost mad once when intergrating Cinnamon Writer to Icaros, just to discover that there were names including a pipe | character, and directories beginning with a underscore _name that for some given reason din't work well with the archiver I used.

Posted on: 3/28 10:06
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: lha from command line - unable to do a lha archive

Joined:
3/3 13:00
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
Paolo, i have guessed the same thing...

Attach file:



jpg  IMG013.jpg (782.28 KB)
6559_58daa7848748b.jpg 2048X1536 px

Posted on: 3/28 11:13
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4365
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3893
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3694
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2648
7 mazze
mazze
2214
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2111
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2024
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec