Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 164
Offline
I'm new here at AROS-Exec, but I'm not new to AROS. I've been following the development of AROS, specifically Icaros Desktop, for a few years. I'm quite impressed by the current level of functionality in Icaros Desktop!

I have been trying to install Icaros using the Live! DVD but I am having a little difficulty. I tried to install twice to two different internal SATA hard disks but each time the installed stopped at the same place...installing "Prefs". The error keeps requesting "Please insert DH0..." as if it can't find the hard disk.

Does AROS fully support SATA hard disks? Or should I use an internal IDE disk? My computer only has SATA connectors, so would a PCI card with IDE controller work for installing AROS?

Mike R.

Posted on: 2017/5/3 12:21
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Icaros doesn't FULLY support SATA. You'll need to go into the compters BIOS setup and change SATA mode to IDE. (or like in my case from AHCI to SATA)

Posted on: 2017/5/3 14:44

Edited by Superchicken on 2017/5/3 16:42:27
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 164
Offline
Thanks for the verification. So, in the AROS installer should I use IDE, ata.device after changing the BIOS setting? Or should I use ahci.device? Can I still use the SATA hard disk but not in AHCI mode? Or do I need an IDE disk? Just to be sure.

Posted on: 2017/5/3 17:46
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Yes, You use the ATA.device as if it were an old IDE drive. And yes, use your SATA drive. As a matter of fact, the SATA specifications fully support the IDE specs, even though they might not put a connector for it on your motherboard. (Mine has both)

Posted on: 2017/5/4 3:51
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 164
Offline
I used BIOS to set SATA to IDE mode. The install went well.

Posted on: 2017/5/4 21:47
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Installing Icaros Desktop

Joined:
2017/4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Good to hear. Cheers!

Posted on: 2017/5/5 1:31
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


No Account
Re: Installing Icaros Desktop
Guest_No Account
Thank for info.

Posted on: 2017/5/17 20:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4399
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 nikolaos
nikolaos
3905
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3904
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2744
7 mazze
mazze
2220
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2112
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2087
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec