Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 »

Happy to be here...

From Chicago
Group:

I just wanted to introduce myself, I've already had the pleasure of "meeting" some of you. I am a retired Electronics Engineer/Computer Hardware Tech.

I have been involved in computers since the late 70s. Yes, the first "computer" I ever had was Atari's Pong console. But the first "real" computer I ever had was the Commodore VIC-20. It had 4k RAM, a 300bps modem, and a Datacassette. It was really fun and that's where I started to learn BASIC. 

Fast forward a few years... In the mid 80's, I got my first IBM clone, a 286XT 8mhz with 512k ram and a 10MB hard drive. I was really smokin' then! After a few years of playing with it, I wanted to do more. My father ran a BBS, and introduced me to the old pasttime of BBSing. In 1991, I opened "The Software Express BBS" and ran it for about 5 years until life got ahold of me and I had to shut down. During that time, I was working at Nokia Mobile Phones at their manufacturing plant in Ft. Worth, Texas. If you've ever owned a Nokia 5150 phone, I very well could have had my hands on it.

Then came the Internet. I was hooked. I have administered many webservers since then (and still do). I have always been infatuated with Operating Systems. I have a HUGE collection of them. I think I have every OS I ever touched, and some I still haven't, like Steve Jobs' NeXT Step as I have no hardware to run it and in a VM it just doesn't like it. However, I still run OS/2 in a VM (now it's called eComStation). So that brings me here.