Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (2 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 1

xushengda0628, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 98
Offline

I am having issues getting hosted networking running. The host creates the aros0 adapter fine. It appears to have the proper netmask and ip address seems ok. Here is the output of ifconfig: 

aros0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 86:6A:01:2B:68:D3inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:25 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:98 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:2326 (2.2 Kb) TX bytes:14377 (14.0 Kb) eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 88:AE:1D:98:D7:A0 inet addr:10.0.0.198 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: 2601:246:c200:4e78:8aae:1dff:fe98:d7a0/128 Scope:Global inet6 addr: fe80::8aae:1dff:fe98:d7a0/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:3272 errors:0 dropped:6 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:2610 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:2362103 (2.2 Mb) TX bytes:422706 (412.7 Kb) Interrupt:16 lo Link encap:Local Loopback inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0 inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1 RX packets:1318 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:1318 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1 RX bytes:108888 (106.3 Kb) TX bytes:108888 (106.3 Kb) vmnet1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:C0:00:01 inet addr:192.168.189.1 Bcast:192.168.189.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:168 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b) vmnet8 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:C0:00:08 inet addr:172.16.131.1 Bcast:172.16.131.255 Mask:255.255.255.0 inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1 RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0 TX packets:170 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0 collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

The guest can ping the host and the host can ping the guest, but I have no other connections.


Posted on: 5/8 7:25
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4331
Offline
Are you routing packets from your linux host to your aros guest?

Posted on: 5/8 12:01
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 98
Offline
What do you mean?

Posted on: 5/8 13:19
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Like described here (and afaik also part of icaros desktop (manual))

It can also be found here.

Posted on: 5/8 13:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 98
Offline
I Did the script and I get the same thing.

Posted on: 5/8 13:56
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
just for the record: did you also configured AROS network preferences to match what the script outputted?

(and i am assuming that you've adopted the script to match your specific setup).

PS: note that you can only run the script once before calling bootstrap. In case you 'exited' aros and return to shell, do not fire the script again.

It might be you require to reboot AROS in order for the changes in network preferences to 'pick' up. Once configured correctly you never would have to touch it again (unless your setup changed).

fwiw: I've added the network startup script in my AROS startup script that is also responsible for invoking aros-bootstrap

Posted on: 5/8 14:00
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 98
Offline
Quote:

origami wrote:
just for the record: did you also configured AROS network preferences to match what the script outputted?

(and i am assuming that you've adopted the script to match your specific setup).


Yes, that is correct. I am able to ping the host from the guest and vise versa.

The line "aros0ck="`ifconfig -a | grep aros0`" that checks for the existence of the aros0 adapter is a command not found unless it's sudoed, or a path is given. When I addded /sbin/ifconfig, it doesn't attempt start the net at all, no matter what ifconfig finds.

Posted on: 5/8 14:12
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Quote:

The line "aros0ck="`ifconfig -a | grep aros0`" that checks for the existence of the aros0 adapter is a command not found unless it's sudoed, or a path is given.

For me that sounds a bit weird, but it might be that your security setup is a bit more tight.

hmz... perhaps better to ask/wait for someone that has more experience with linux. Any particular distribution that you are using ?

Posted on: 5/8 14:17
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 98
Offline
Quote:

origami wrote:

For me that sounds a bit weird, but it might be that your security setup is a bit more tight.


I agree, It does sound weird. It's been driving me nuts.

Quote:

hmz... perhaps better to ask/wait for someone that has more experience with linux. Any particular distribution that you are using ?


I'm using OpenSuSE Leap 42.2. I do know it is a bit different than Ubuntu or Debian. I'll check my security settings and wait for more input. Thanks for the effort though.

Posted on: 5/8 14:27
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hosted (Linux) networking issue

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 247
Offline
Although linux is not my turf, i might be able to push a little into the right direction (but you probably found these yourself as well).

i found this and this. especially the second one might be interesting, the first i do not trust so much (but, you know suse better then me).

Posted on: 5/8 14:44
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4331
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2599
7 mazze
mazze
2202
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2065
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2018
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec