Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 (2)


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Quote:

Pasquale wrote:


AROS is great but without a good browser is useless.


That depends on what you wanna use it for. For now, if you want to surf the net, a less experimental OS would be in order. Remember, Aros is still (alpha) software in actuality.
Also it's good to remember, it's based on a technology that's 20 years old and the computers it ran on are so out-dated.

On the other hand, I said the same thing in a few posts myself. My suggestion is to use OWB 1.16 which is in the Extras/Networking/OWB 1.16 drawer. It doesn't support flash or html5, but it does load websites better and is usable save for some websites.

Posted on: 5/26 3:12
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
The problem is your hardware, have you tried it on a virtual machine for example?
I am years i use aros i never had your problem, the most pushing computer I tried was a intel core duo 2 a 64 bit.

hi

Posted on: 5/26 3:23
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Quote:

sabbate wrote:
The problem is your hardware, have you tried it on a virtual machine for example?
I am years i use aros i never had your problem, the most pushing computer I tried was a intel core duo 2 a 64 bit.

hi


I have several virtual machine installs and they all act and perform the same way. I have tried booting it up on a core2duo 8500, and a Intel P6100 (a crippled i5) and on both of them it wouldn't even boot. (probably motherboard incompatible) I don't think it's a hardware issue as it does the same thing no matter the hardware used. (this includes a "native" install on FS-UAE)

Also I have tried version 2.1.1, 2.1.2 and 2.1.3 of Icaros and they all act the same.

Posted on: 5/26 3:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
This is a strange thing !!

Posted on: 5/26 3:46
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Quote:

sabbate wrote:
This is a strange thing !!


I agree. I am wondering if it has anything to do with the Intel graphics driver as all the machines it runs on has an Intel graphics chip. As a matter of fact, I'm gonna install it on another machine that has an NVidia card and see how it works.

Posted on: 5/26 4:16
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
Quote:

sabbate wrote:
This is a strange thing !!


Bazinga! I found the issue!! It is in fact OWB and the Intel graphics driver. I installed Icaros on an old Pentium 4 machine with an NVidia GeForce4 graphics card and I have none of the tearing or issues that I have in my other installs with both OWB 1.16 and OWB 1.25.

The sound doesn't work though even though it shows in AHI settings. BTW, what does "VOID:" mean?

Posted on: 5/26 4:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
4/27 7:12
From Chicago
Group:
Member
Posts: 102
Offline
I may have spoke too soon. But it IS between OWB and the graphics drivers. With the NVidia card, instead of tearing, if you open more than one tab, it will lockup or crash. I had this happen on both 1.16 and 1.25. With the GeForce4 card, ver. 1.25 works very nicely though. WAYYY better than on the Intel machines. However, with more than one tab it crashes quickly.

Posted on: 5/26 5:28
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
I had guessed that it was a hardware issue, but you've tried vesa mode with your computers, the pentium 4 that I also had and never gave me problems if not performance

hi

Posted on: 5/26 6:07
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
2007/3/13 15:52
From West Midlands, UK
Group:
Member
Posts: 917
Offline
Quote:

Superchicken wrote:
Quote:

sabbate wrote:
This is a strange thing !!


Bazinga! I found the issue!! It is in fact OWB and the Intel graphics driver. I installed Icaros on an old Pentium 4 machine with an NVidia GeForce4 graphics card and I have none of the tearing or issues that I have in my other installs with both OWB 1.16 and OWB 1.25.

The sound doesn't work though even though it shows in AHI settings. BTW, what does "VOID:" mean?


VOID means no supported audio hardware as been found. As to OWB crashing when opening another tab, I'd guess either limited main memory on the motherboard or limited graphics memory on the card.

Both my laptop and netbook have Intel graphics and whilst there can be an issue with tearing it's not so bad as to be unusable. The problem is different versions of the Intel chipset can be recognised as 'IntelGMA' graphics but not be as well supported as others - hence the issues being on one machine but not another. As Sabbate suggests, it might be worth trying using VESA on these machines.

Cheers,
Nigel.

Posted on: 5/26 9:15
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: OWB - Odyssey Web Browser, unusable.

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
I usually do not open many pages at most six, however you should just start your computers with intel graphics chipsets in vesa mode, it should go all out.

Posted on: 5/27 4:00
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 (2)



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4341
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2623
7 mazze
mazze
2213
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2097
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2023
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec