Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (2 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 1

_JoYpaD_, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





smp only x86_64?

Joined:
6/27 8:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 1
Offline
You might just adapt smp in 32-bit builds, for example i have a dual xeon prestonia at 32 bit, it goes very well with a core and i'm using it from usb stick!

Posted on: 6/27 8:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 906
Offline
might be interesting to adopt it for 32bbit anyway, just not sure how high it is on the proirity list, especially by both coders who implemented it. i fear not that high. the changes in exec can be activated via preprocessor directive at compile time, but the rest is exclusive to x64 arch branch and would have to be adopted to i386.

Posted on: 6/28 8:56
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4341
Offline
We should make it work on x64 first, and then think to port it to other architectures.

Posted on: 6/28 9:26
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 906
Offline
right. especially it makes most sense there.

Posted on: 6/28 10:57
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
With 30 euros you buy a dual xeon workstation at 3 ghz, however it is logical that this work on x86_64 is just started and then you are ready to complete it, we hope for a support also for the 3-bit version of aros.

Hi all

Posted on: 6/28 13:12
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2004/3/29 9:54
From Scotland "The Cold"
Group:
Member
Posts: 2023
Offline
There are no plans to make it work for 32bit x86 - and anyone intending this is discouraged from doing so.

Posted on: 6/28 18:45
_________________
Click to see original Image in a new window
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: smp only x86_64?

Joined:
2010/5/18 11:49
From Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 790
Offline
I've spent 30 euros, I can safely use abiv0 i386 and in the future I have an athlon64 x2 paid 35 euro, so i'm ready for the 64 bit version, aros is very effective on these platforms

hi all, have good week

Posted on: 6/29 5:02
_________________
Aros AbiV0 Dell Latitude Laptop C610

http://www.planet-eu.it/aros
https://soundcloud.com/sabbate
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4341
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2623
7 mazze
mazze
2213
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2097
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2023
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec