Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
2 user(s) are online (2 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 1

remotenemesis, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 »


Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
1/20 18:36
From SF Bay Area, California
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Online
Hey there,

I'm trying to set up a dev environment on AROS (Icaros 2.2.1) and I'm a little stuck with installing g++.

Is anyone able to help with the process?

Thanks!

Posted on: 1/30 8:16
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2012/1/16 5:57
Group:
Member
Posts: 273
Offline
Hi,

have a look here:
https://github.com/apiraino/aros_guide

It's been written two years ago, so it may need some care. But it should get you started.

PR and updates are welcome, of course ;-)

Posted on: 1/30 9:06
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2012/8/16 12:52
From Sweden
Group:
Member
Posts: 108
Offline
Or here - if you are runnning Linux to develop for AROS:
http://amifreak.ftp.sh/post/setting-up-environment-to-start

If you are running AROS and want to develop applications, you should have gcc installed, right? I haven't started my AROS developer guides yet, but I'm getting closer.

Posted on: 1/30 11:09
_________________
www.arosos.se
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
1/20 18:36
From SF Bay Area, California
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Online
That's what I'm looking to do, install a working gcc and SDK on AROS. Although maybe running linux hosted AROS is more common for development maybe?

Posted on: 1/30 12:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2012/8/16 12:52
From Sweden
Group:
Member
Posts: 108
Offline
Well you certainly got better tools when running linux. But you can still get your feet wet inside Aros. ( but im coding c on my amiga1200 using "ed" so Im not spoiled with good tool. .)

Posted on: 1/30 13:02
_________________
www.arosos.se
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2009/9/27 22:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 1048
Offline
Quote:

remotenemesis wrote:
Hey there,

I'm trying to set up a dev environment on AROS (Icaros 2.2.1) and I'm a little stuck with installing g++.

Is anyone able to help with the process?

Thanks!

If you just want to compile something on Icaros, g++ should already be available to use from the shell.

Ps: If you're using the Icaros lite version, try the full version for g++.

Posted on: 1/30 15:04

Edited by cavemann on 2018/1/30 18:26:08
Edited by cavemann on 2018/1/30 18:27:51
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 1057
Offline
@remotenemesis
well im not sure if aros can currently build itself. perhapst its worth to check. it should be suitable enough environment for smaller projects.
keep in mind you dont have smp under aros, except for certain applications on special x64 build. so it means speed penalty in comparison to linux, which is considerable with bigger projects.

Posted on: 1/30 16:29
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2008/10/11 22:43
Group:
Member
Posts: 689
Offline
Hi,

Do the "basic" Dev docs not help ?

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Developer/Docs

Jeff

Posted on: 1/30 17:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
1/20 18:36
From SF Bay Area, California
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Online
@caveman that's what I thought too. However if I try to compile a simple helloworld ("gcc -o HelloWorld hello.c") I get the following error:

"gcc: error trying to execute 'cc1': execvp: No such file or directory".

or

"g++: error trying to execute 'cc1plus': execvp: No such file or directory" if I used g++

This is on an install of Icaros 2.2.1 with the Development files installed. Can anyone hit me with a cluestick here?

Thanks everyone for the thoughtful suggestions!




Posted on: 1/30 21:01

Edited by remotenemesis on 2018/1/30 21:28:19
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Dev environment setup on AROS

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4398
Offline
This interests me too. Although I am not a developer myself, I'd love that everything in Icaros works.

So please help him finding a solution which may help me to fix the issue on my distro as well.

Posted on: 1/31 3:27
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4398
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3904
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3895
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2743
7 mazze
mazze
2220
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2112
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2082
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec