Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/10/7 15:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 733
Offline
With all the cpu's coming out with a lot of cpu cores, I was wondering do we have the ability to run Icaros with 2D, 3D, Audio and Networking in a Virtual Machine?

The reason I am asking is that the other day there was a thread that had some arguing going on in it. This makes me think that Aros and Aros SMP is not moving forward as it could be. I would love to move over to using SMP Aros and that sounds like it will be a long while before I can.

I would like to be able to run Icaros in a VM and not worry about what hardware I was using and this could be for Aros SMP too.

Thanks for your hard work.

Edit:
I know that developing for a Virtual Machine is not the best, In My Opinion.
The software would have to be eventually put onto real hardware.
I sort of have a vision of a computer that can run multiple OSes at a time.
We can do this now with Qemu, etc.
I am not for sure if it even has an underlying OS. An Open Source OS could keep some stability, security, etc.
As long as someone keeps the FOSS updated, it could be around for a long while till something replaces it.

Thanks for letting me ramble.

Posted on: 6/26 18:08

Edited by trekiej on 2018/6/26 20:22:27
Edited by trekiej on 2018/6/26 20:24:01
_________________
http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 1366
Offline
upcoming of aros smp distribution requies imho coincidene of several unlikely events to happen, such as:
- abi v1 gets finished and stable
- developers who started smp implementation return and finalize it.
- distributions switch to smp target (x86_64 abi v1)
- the audience embraces the switch rather than to complain
...

Posted on: 6/26 20:18
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/10/7 15:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 733
Offline
Thank you wawa.
I know what I posted is not new.
The above idea could lead to a complicated Distribution.
I wish we could switch to SMP and run legacy in a VM.
This would be Icaros 32 bit non-smp for example.
With Threadripper and other cpu's out with many cores and more threads, there is an opportunity being wasted.
This is not new either and the prices are good too.

Posted on: 6/26 20:29
_________________
http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 1366
Offline
Quote:

trekiej wrote:
there is an opportunity being wasted.


the opportunities are by design usually being wasted, as we see. because people imagine different things to be opportunities, among others.

Posted on: 6/26 20:45
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/10/7 15:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 733
Offline
Yes, I agree.
Operation Life Raft.

Posted on: 6/26 20:51
_________________
http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 4454
Offline
Quote:

trekiej wrote:
With all the cpu's coming out with a lot of cpu cores, I was wondering do we have the ability to run Icaros with 2D, 3D, Audio and Networking in a Virtual Machine?


We currently have networking, sound and custom resolution VESA modes support under VMware and VirtualBox. AROS SMP work on multiple CPU cores under VMware. We don't have 3D acceleration, though.


Quote:

Edit:
I know that developing for a Virtual Machine is not the best, In My Opinion.
The software would have to be eventually put onto real hardware.


From the software's point of view, hypervisors ARE "real hardware". I would love to see AROS supporting 3D acceleration under VMware and VirtualBox (the former, in particular, since VMware already provides a better hypervisor, more suitable to AROS needs).


Quote:

I sort of have a vision of a computer that can run multiple OSes at a time.
We can do this now with Qemu, etc.
I am not for sure if it even has an underlying OS. An Open Source OS could keep some stability, security, etc.
As long as someone keeps the FOSS updated, it could be around for a long while till something replaces it.

Thanks for letting me ramble.


QEMU is not the best choice unless you use direct connection to host's graphic card. VMware provides a full Direct3D9-compliant "translated" GPU which is already powerful enough to play OpenGL games available to AROS at high resolution settings. What we miss, unluckily, is a port of VMware Tools, at least the part which would be helpful: vmxnet3 nic drivers and, above all, the GPU. Our native driver for VMware 2D graphics need much love, too.

Posted on: 6/27 0:45
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2017/7/16 1:17
From Santander
Group:
Member
Posts: 64
Offline
Hello,
can you finish the version of Aros i386?
with 2d graphics and 3d natives
the native sound card
the native network card,

we get users that habituaen and adpatan to Aros,

and then copilais to SMP,

and we go to x86 x64,

and at this point:
the native Aros emulates other operating systems.
paolo a vm ware for Aros as thought about that?

I have a rasberry pi3,
waiting for this list to be compiled,
another friend of mine also waits !.

you have to solve things!
and then jump to Intel i9.

I do not think it's too much to ask?

Posted on: 6/27 7:36
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
5/29 10:12
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 65
Offline
I'm never too sure how much of your posts to put down to not being a native English speaker, so I'll go easy. My first reaction was "Sure, we'll have that all knocked up by the end of the week!"

Anyway...

Quote:

can you finish the version of Aros i386?
with 2d graphics and 3d natives
the native sound card
the native network card,


What is there to finish? I have a pc just to the right of me with native 2D, I think 3D but certainly WiFi, Sound and Network. You just need supported hardware. And that cannot be every piece of hardware there is. It's not that long ago that even Apple and MS did not support all hardware.

Quote:

we get users that habituaen and adpatan to Aros,

and then copilais to SMP,

and we go to x86 x64,


I'm struggling with this but I think you mean that after i386 we can all think about moving to x86_64 and SMP. Well, yes, I guess that would be the plan.

Quote:

and at this point:
the native Aros emulates other operating systems.
paolo a vm ware for Aros as thought about that?


I doubt that Aros is ever going to be able to emulate Windows or MacOS or well, much in the way of other OS to be honest. Apart from Amiga through a UAE variant?

Quote:

I have a rasberry pi3,
waiting for this list to be compiled,
another friend of mine also waits !.

you have to solve things!
and then jump to Intel i9.

I do not think it's too much to ask?


I'm lost here - I think we all know that it would be nice to support allsorts of things. i9 isn't one of them however. As far as I know, an i9 doesn't need anything special over what an i3, i5 or i7 does. Does it?

Is it too much to ask? Well, there's YEARS of work in what you've just listed. I guess you probably should get started and keep everyone up to date on your progress?

Posted on: 6/27 9:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2010/10/7 15:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 733
Offline
Having a few developers around makes me think that supporting a few Virtual Devices under VMWare or Virtual Box or even Qemu would be more possible.

I do have an Dual Core Aros Machine.
Which video card should I buy next?
I was looking at a 7800 GTX, 8800 GTX, or 9800 GTX.
The 7800 GTX has a 400 watt psu requirement.
The machine has a 6600 GT in it now.
I have 3 and a half machines plus a laptop in my living room where I also sleep. My mother's machine is in here too.
It is getting cramped.

Posted on: 6/27 9:48
_________________
http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Icaros and Virtual Machines

Joined:
2017/7/16 1:17
From Santander
Group:
Member
Posts: 64
Offline
Having the operating system stable,
applications can then be made,
and then play video games,
edit music
do everything a normal user can do, such as one from AmigaOS, MorphOS, but in Aros

https://www.generationamiga.com/?s=aros+

Posted on: 6/27 12:12

Edited by The_Reaper on 2018/6/27 12:40:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4454
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
4175
3 magorium
magorium
4095
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3942
5 deadwood
deadwood
2917
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2810
7 mazze
mazze
2222
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2113
9 damocles
damocles
1789
10 BSzili
BSzili
1530
© 2004-2018 AROS Exec