Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Back to the future ;)

Joined:
9/2 6:29
From Germany NRW
Group:
Member
Posts: 5
Offline
Hi there,

back in the days I loved my Amigas. From 1989 to 2002 I had an A500, A4000, A1200 in a tower and a CDTV. When I had enough with the ongoing frustrations in the Amiga-world I gave them all away and only kept the CDTV. - I know, giving them away was a bad idea ;).
Anyway, I'm still interested and always was and now that the retro-fever got hold of me, I pledged for a new A500-case (Vampire-edition) and a Checkmate A1500 Plus :). I'm hoping to get a Vampire V4 standalone and run Aros Vision (68k) and maybe build an emulation-pc into that Checkmate case.
Nowadays I use GLinux (GNU / Linux) for everyday use and I think open-source is a great idea that's why I like Aros a lot :). Maybe running Aros hosted on top of GLinux is cool, so that I can run GLinux-applications, too?
I also have an old Samsung NC10 and an AMD Athlon X2 BE-2400 I could try Aros on. What do you think? Last time I tried Aros I could not manage to bring it online and experienced some crashes here and there. I might try it again, hang around here and ask for help ;).

All the best,
Cheers

snurf.T



Posted on: 9/2 7:21
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 4183
Offline
I also had lot's of hardware that I almost gave away like A4000 Cyberstorm, Cybervision with Delfina soundcard etc.
You are not alone ;)

Your samsung nc10 should be fully supported except for maybe WiFi. Do you know what WiFi card it use?
That should still be easy to replace to the right model.

This is the one you must have.

wifi-card model Atheros AR5BXB63

Easy to find for cheap money on ebay.

Regarding installation you don't have any optical drive on that netbook.
Do you have usb optical drive?

If not you need AROS on a usb drive.



Posted on: 9/2 13:29
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
9/2 6:29
From Germany NRW
Group:
Member
Posts: 5
Offline
Hi nikolaos,

many thanks for your reply :)! I'll check which network-card is in my Samsung NC in the next few days.
Your message sounds quite promising, so I'm really keen on trying to install AROS on that little netbook. I even have a USB-optical-drive that way I can use a CD / DVD for installing AROS. :)

I'll let you know about the progress.

Cheers.

Posted on: 9/4 13:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 4183
Offline
Snurf;: Good :)

Burn AspireOS to a CD or DVD and boot with your optical drive.

http://archives.aros-exec.org/share/d ... eos_v.2.1_native_i386.rar

Link under you find videos about how to install with more.

https://sites.google.com/site/arosaspireone/videos

I'm pretty sure you need a WiFi card replacement else you will not get online.

Looking forward to hear about your progress.


Posted on: 9/4 23:29
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
9/2 6:29
From Germany NRW
Group:
Member
Posts: 5
Offline
Hi nikolaos!

Today I found some time to try to install AROS on my Samsung NC10. Unfortunately I could not manage to create a bootable CD-rom or USB-stick. My usb-creator-tool tells me the ISO is not a bootable image, qemu says 'No bootable device' and GParted does not show me a partition after having transferred the ISO to a USB-stick.
I guess this is a rookie mistake. Could you tell me where the trick is?

Many thanks in advance :)

Cheers,
snurf.T

PS: Here is what I did (all on GLinux)
- Used Brasero to burn the ISO to a CD
- Used Etcher to write the ISO to a USB-stick
- Tried qemu to start AROS
(sudo qemu-system-x86_64 -cdrom AROS\ Live\ CD.iso -usb -device usb-host,hostbus=4,hostaddr=7 -boot d)

Posted on: 9/7 7:34
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2012/4/16 8:41
From Brindisi (Italy)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1276
Offline
snurf_T, At the moment no "usb-creator-tool" can ever create a bootable device, instead you can install "the system" AROS distributions on Hardisk or USB through CD-DVD.

To install AROS Distributions wherever you want with ISO File through a Virtual Machine (VMWare Playeror Virtual Box)

Posted on: 9/7 10:13
_________________
https://www.plagimusicali.net/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2017/6/27 23:42
Group:
Member
Posts: 4
Offline
usualy on linux when i want to burn a bootable iso on a medium,
for example: usb stick or external harddrive plugged in usb slot)
i use command 'dd'
sudo dd if=/path/to/iso/file.iso of=/dev/device_name bs=1m
for example:
sudo dd if=./aros.iso of=/dev/sdb bs=1m

Posted on: 9/7 10:26
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2012/4/16 8:41
From Brindisi (Italy)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1276
Offline

Posted on: 9/7 14:24
_________________
https://www.plagimusicali.net/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
9/2 6:29
From Germany NRW
Group:
Member
Posts: 5
Offline
Hi guys,

many thanks for the help :)! But I have to admit that I did not get the AspireOS-ISO working. Whatever I did, I ended up with a nearly blank screen with only a blinking cursor (underscore) on it. It just did not boot any further than that. :/ Strange.
After I tried the Rufus-tool which delivered a stick with a bootable fat32-partition, I had a look at the MBR (dd if=/dev/MY_DEVICE of=~/temp/mbr_test count=1 bs=512 and than used GHex) I found a table of primary partitions (0x1BE to 0x1FD and the "55 AA" at the end, but nothing in the code-area (0x00 to 0x1B7). That does not look right, does it? - I must have missed something, just don't know what it is...
Anyway, I tried the Icaros Live ISO 2.2.3 and was lucky with that! :) - Now I have AROS running on my netbook. Very nice! :) :) :).
Next step: Get the network running. Luckily I found out that I already have the Atheros AR58XB63. :)

I'll be back ;)

Cheers,
snurf.T

Posted on: 9/9 6:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Back to the future ;)

Joined:
2017/3/9 9:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 34
Offline
Quote:

snurf_T wrote:

After I tried the Rufus-tool which delivered a stick with a bootable fat32-partition, I had a look at the MBR (dd if=/dev/MY_DEVICE of=~/temp/mbr_test count=1 bs=512 and than used GHex) I found a table of primary partitions (0x1BE to 0x1FD and the "55 AA" at the end, but nothing in the code-area (0x00 to 0x1B7).


Usually the BIOS loads the first bootable device that has the magic number 55AA written at the end of the first 512 bytes of the first sector at the address 0x7c00 in real mode 16bit.

From there you can use the BIOS int 13 funktion 2 to load a second stage bootloader (grub2) or simply single stage trackload your kernel directly into memory and have it executed.

So yes! If there is just the magic number and no further "code" that loads anything, then you end up getting a blinking underscore on the screen.

Posted on: 9/9 6:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4456
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
4183
3 magorium
magorium
4095
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3942
5 deadwood
deadwood
2917
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2810
7 mazze
mazze
2222
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2113
9 damocles
damocles
1789
10 BSzili
BSzili
1531
© 2004-2018 AROS Exec