Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
24 user(s) are online (18 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 24

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 2 3 4 (5) 6 7 8 ... 15 »


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2006/10/28 22:10
From France
Group:
Member
Posts: 28
Offline
Great, the sound is working now.
I have copied Devs/AHI/aros.audio & Devs/AudioModes
before but the oss.library was missing.

I have tried with mplayer & hivelytracker and all is working well.

Many thanks mazze


Posted on: 2009/11/8 9:05
_________________
Icaros - Linux Gentoo - Haiku - WinXp - Win7 - Tiger
Amiga demos on youtube
My pictures (no Amiga related)
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2006/1/31 20:17
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 455
Offline
Since Linux has a million different distributions, it can be a real pain to get the network script for tap.device working.

Linux is easy to install to an LiveUSB. So if someone has a script that work with Ubuntu 9.10, please post it here.

A liveUSB Ubuntu 9.10 guide is shown here : http://www.pendrivelinux.com/create-a ... 9-10-live-usb-in-windows/

The script should be easy to adapt to eth0, wlan0 etc.

Anyone up for the job?

Posted on: 2009/11/8 9:59
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/6/7 13:52
Group:
Member
Posts: 2051
Offline
@demether

I found that mine did not work, however it was my aros tcp files. If using Mazzes script make sure you set the TCP interface to "aros0" and use the 192.168.0.20 address and in the static-routes make you gateway 192.168.0.1

That fixed me up.

edit:
At least the ip must match the one created for it.

Finally big thank to Colani1200: for the help.

Posted on: 2009/12/28 6:36

Edited by clusteruk on 2009/12/28 7:07:07
_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D and iMica Silent and NVidia version running latest Icaros.
http://www.imica.net
Please support the Amigas future, this year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2009/6/5 2:50
From dax (landes, france)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1182
Offline
THanks, Clusteruk, but finally I surrended. Too complex for me, I hope one day someone will make an easy to install linux hosted Icaros !

Posted on: 2009/12/31 9:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/6/7 13:52
Group:
Member
Posts: 2051
Offline
Cheer up I am trying to prepare a working instalation



Running on my eeepc 701 at moment.

Posted on: 2009/12/31 11:44
_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D and iMica Silent and NVidia version running latest Icaros.
http://www.imica.net
Please support the Amigas future, this year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/4/8 13:03
Group:
Member
Posts: 457
Offline
One problem I am facing is file permissions. Seems like hosted Aros reads the linux file permissions. That causes many files e.g. in C: not to be executable by default. Same is for things in develpoment, like gcc. Do I have to fix all permissions manually or did I copy the stuff over from the ISO in the wrong way?

Posted on: 2010/1/1 5:40
_________________
My AROS native boxes:
- ASUS P4PE-X/TE, P4 2.8, SB Live! SB0060, RTL8029, GeForce 5200
- HP Compaq NX7010
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/6/7 13:52
Group:
Member
Posts: 2051
Offline
whate machine and what linux are you running.

I had to put Ubuntu on my Asus but it works amazingly. And I now have Icaros 1.2 running.

Posted on: 2010/1/1 11:06
_________________
Amiga 1000, 3000D and iMica Silent and NVidia version running latest Icaros.
http://www.imica.net
Please support the Amigas future, this year is 25th Anniversary lets make it special.
http://www.amiga25.org
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/4/8 13:03
Group:
Member
Posts: 457
Offline
Hmmm... nevermind the permission thing. I repeated my installtion and it works fine. What did you do about the keyboard mapping issue (cursor keys and the like)?

Posted on: 2010/1/2 4:34

Edited by Colani1200 on 2010/1/2 5:06:38
Edited by Colani1200 on 2010/1/2 5:08:32
_________________
My AROS native boxes:
- ASUS P4PE-X/TE, P4 2.8, SB Live! SB0060, RTL8029, GeForce 5200
- HP Compaq NX7010
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2005/8/17 16:00
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 2070
Offline
Quote:

Colani1200 wrote:
What did you do about the keyboard mapping issue (cursor keys and the like)?


Here is an alternative keycode table:
http://archives.aros-exec.org/index.p ... /input/keycode2rawkey.zip

Posted on: 2010/1/2 9:06
_________________
AROS - Make code, not war
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: linux hosted icaros ?

Joined:
2008/4/8 13:03
Group:
Member
Posts: 457
Offline
OK, to sum up the fragments in this thread, here comes a complete step by step guide (tested with Ubuntu 9.x):


- Copy the Icaros CD to a folder named "AROS" in your home directory


- Copy over the following files from the Linux hosted nightly version:
AROS.boot
boot
/aros-unix
Devs
/AHI/aros.audio
Devs
/AudioModes/AROS
Devs
/Networks/tap.device
Libs
/oss.library

- In S/icaros-sequence, remove the line "assign system: sys:"

- Put keycode2rawkey.table in Devs/Keymaps/X11

- Install the tunctl command on your host:
sudo apt-get install uml-utilities


- Create the script bootaros.sh in the AROS folder, make sure you read the comments. Adjust where necessary:
#!/bin/bash
# tap unit number. This should match the UNIT= parameter in
# AROSTCP/db/interfaces
tap_unit=0
# IP address for the tap interface. Inside AROS, this will be your default gateway.
# NOTE: Make sure it is in a different network than your Linux host.
tap_ip=192.168.254.254
# create the interface
iface=$(sudo tunctl --`whoami` -t aros$tap_unit)
# bring it up
sudo ifconfig $iface $tap_ip up    
sudo chmod 666 
/dev/net/tun
# turn on NAT
# (NOTE: make sure that the network interface you are using is named "eth0".
# Otherwise adjust the following line to your needs.)
sudo iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
# Turn on IP forwarding
sudo sysctl -w net/ipv4/ip_forward=1
# start AROS
cd ~/AROS
./boot/aros-unix -m 512
# aros has finished, so kill the interface
sudo tunctl -d $iface &> /dev/null


- Make the script executable:
chmod u+x bootaros.sh


- Start the script from a shell:
cd ~/AROS
./bootaros.sh


- Inside AROS, the network settings will have to be configured like this:
Devicetap.device
IP address
192.168.254.1
Gateway
192.168.254.254
DNS1
The IP of the name server that is also used by your Linux host
DNS2
The IP of the name server that is also used by your Linux host

Posted on: 2010/1/2 9:13
_________________
My AROS native boxes:
- ASUS P4PE-X/TE, P4 2.8, SB Live! SB0060, RTL8029, GeForce 5200
- HP Compaq NX7010
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 2 3 4 (5) 6 7 8 ... 15 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3765
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3470
3 magorium
magorium
3125
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3072
5 deadwood
deadwood
2371
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2137
7 mazze
mazze
2070
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2051
9 damocles
damocles
1771
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1769
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec