Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
13 user(s) are online (12 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 13

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 4 »


IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu AND Virtual Box AND Virtual PC

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
I want to replace Microsoft's Virtual PC emulator with Qemu Manager on Windows, since Virtual PC hijacks the Right Window/Amiga key for exiting the emulator (making hotkeys unusable), plus there is no sound or networking under V.PC, and HD images have to be full size to work with AROS on V.PC.

I've got Icaros Live running fairly fast under Qemu Manager, and sound support is very nice... but it's *unusable* due to the following keys not working or producing the wrong result:

* Arrow keys (behaves like I pressed the 2/4/6/8 keys!)
* Delete key (behaves like I pressed the . key!)
* Right Window/Amiga key (is ignored, even though Left Windows/Amiga works)
* Page Up/Down (behaves like I pressed 9/3 keys)
* Home/End (behaves like I pressed the 7/1 keys)
* F1-F10 (produces some unreadable character, probably non-ASCII)

HELP!!!!!

Posted on: 2011/2/6 1:34

Edited by PortablE on 2011/2/6 1:55:20
Edited by PortablE on 2011/2/10 13:23:56
Edited by PortablE on 2011/2/10 13:33:39
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
Hmmm, going by the lack of replies, it seems that it is impossible to actually use AROS under Windows

Posted on: 2011/2/6 12:20
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2005/2/2 20:18
From Grosseto, Italy
Group:
Member
Posts: 427
Offline
I've not tried QEmu under windows, I'm using VirtualBox 3.2.8 under Window7 and it works really well!
All is working, audio, network, and never noticed any keyboards issue, maybe you can give it a try...

Posted on: 2011/2/6 12:28
_________________
-=] Allanon [=-
AMC Media Center
SDB & ScuiLib Projects
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2006/4/7 1:34
Group:
Member
Posts: 466
Offline
Yes, I can confirm that AROS works really nice in VirtualBox on Windows Vista too.

PS: I googled around a little bit and found out that this is a common problem in qemu. (Qemu-Wiki) It seems the easiest solution is to add the following command-line options for qemu: "-k en-us"

Posted on: 2011/2/6 13:03
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2010/9/21 10:10
From Barcelona, Spain
Group:
Member
Posts: 59
Offline
@PortablE

haven't tried with windows but running Icaros with QEmu in Debian works fine here.

Have you tried holding Nun lock while pressing the desired key? I read somewhere there were problems with num lock and QEmu in windows.

Posted on: 2011/2/6 13:22
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
Thanks for the suggestions. I tried "-k en-gb" without luck. But it sounds like Virtual Box is the way to go :)

Posted on: 2011/2/7 8:09
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
IcarosLive doesn't seem to get past GRUB using VirtualBox v4.0.2, so lools like I need to try an obsolete version.

Posted on: 2011/2/7 9:06
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2004/4/7 4:26
Group:
Member
Posts: 3638
Offline
...or download Icaros Live 1.2.6.

Posted on: 2011/2/8 5:35
_________________
p.bes
Icaros Desktop AROS distribution mantainer
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
@paolone
I have 1.2.6 (see my other recent thread) but it seems to have a lot of problems itself, so I'm trying 1.2.5 instead.

Posted on: 2011/2/8 8:54
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: IcarosLive unusable on Windows Qemu (help!)

Joined:
2008/3/15 3:10
From England
Group:
Member
Posts: 584
Offline
Virtual Box 3.2.12 was not better than 4.0.2 . Icaros Live v1.2.5 & v1.2.4 refused to boot after installation. v1.2.6 was fine on VB 3.2.12 though, so looks like I'll have to use it despite it's problem(s).

Need to do more testing, but Virtual Box does indeed look promising (touch wood).

Posted on: 2011/2/10 10:38
_________________
ChrisH
--
Author of the PortablE programming language.
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 4 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3638
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3451
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
2991
4 magorium
magorium
2869
5 deadwood
deadwood
2315
6 mazze
mazze
2058
7 clusteruk
clusteruk
2052
8 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2050
9 damocles
damocles
1788
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1711
© 2004-2013 AROS Exec