Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
15 user(s) are online (13 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 14

Allanon, more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2012/12/28 4:45
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Offline
Moin zusammen!

Ich kann machen, was ich will. Ich bekomme leider keine der derzeitigen Live-Editions aus dem AROS-Sektor auf meinem Notebook (Acer TimelineX 5830T) vollständig an's Laufen, werder live, noch über Installation.
Was mir u.a. fehlt, sind Sound sowie ein Netzzugriff.


Das Problem, dass die jeweiligen Boot-CDs bzw. -DVDs nicht von SATA-Laufwerken starten, hab' ich mit einem externen Laufwerk ja noch im Griff. Allerdings fand ich bislang keine Möglichkeit, Sound zu bekommen, und zwar weder unter Broadway oder Aros noch unter Ikaros oder Aeros. Eine externe Audio-USB-Box von I-Tec wurde zwar in den AHI-Prefs als USB-Audio-Device erkannt (bzw. dieser Treiber wurde dann zusätzlich in der Liste angeboten), allerdings kann ich niemals einen Testton abspielen. Es tut sich rein garnichts, egal mit welcher Einstellung.
Das Netzwerk-Device eth0 wird zwar unter Aros bzw. Aeros angeboten, allerdings lässt sich damit keine Verbindung aufbauen.

Noch ein merkwürdiges Problem: Wenn ich versuche, Aeros auf einem 16 GB USB-Stick zu installieren, läuft die Installation zwar problemlos durch (die Partitionen für Linux und Swap habe ich passend angelegt). Allerdings lässt sich der Rechner davon nicht starten, weil anscheinend der MBR auf dem Stick nicht sauber angelegt wird. Das Booten über die Live-CD läuft einwandfrei, komisch. Alle anderen System, die auf Linux aufsetzen, machen bei meinen Sticks niemals solche Probleme (ich habe mehrere ausprobiert, auch reine MicroSD-Adapter). Da scheint etwas mit der GRUB-Installation nicht sauber zu laufen.

Gibt's jemanden, der ähnliche Probleme hat und evtl. mit ein paar Vorschlägen dienen kann? Ich wäre wirklich über jeden Ratschlag dankbar.

Alf


Posted on: 2012/12/28 5:06
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2006/4/7 1:34
Group:
Member
Posts: 452
Offline
Hallo Alf und willkommen!

Was wird in PCI Tool als Sound- und Netzwerk-Hardware angezeigt?

USB-Audio-Hardware wird noch nicht unterstützt.

Posted on: 2012/12/28 5:20
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 2780
Offline
Hallo und wilkommen Stuckalf,

Quote:
Das Problem, dass die jeweiligen Boot-CDs bzw. -DVDs nicht von SATA-Laufwerken starten, hab' ich mit einem externen Laufwerk ja noch im Griff.


Ich weiß nicht, ob es auf Ihrem Rechner ist möglich, aber haben Sie versucht, indem (im BIOS) SATA in Legacy / ide / kompatiblen Modus. Die meisten der Zeit dies löst das Problem nicht in der Lage, von der CD / DVD booten.

above was google translated from:
i do not know if it is possible on your machine, but have you tried putting (in the BIOS) SATA into legacy/ide/compatible mode. Most of the time this solves the problem not being able to boot from the CD/DVD.



Posted on: 2012/12/28 5:36
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2012/12/28 4:45
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Offline
Superschnelle Antworten, vielen Dank dafür! Und danke für's herzliche willkommen. Ich hoffe, ich habe mein System schnell am Start.

@magorium: No need to translate into german. I think I understand enough english - so you don't have to worry about translating anything. But thanks for your efforts.
A good hint it was with changing the SATA ports to IDE mode. Now the boot-dvd works fine. One problem solved

@aha: Ich hab' mal nachgeschaut. Für den Audio-Chip wird im PCITool folgendes angezeigt:
Driver name: PCINative
Direct bus: yes
Hardware info: IA32 native direct access PCI driver
Description: Multimedia Audio
Vendor name: Intel Corporation
Product name: Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Subsystem Acer Incorporated [ALI]: 0x55b
VendorID: 0x8086
ProductID: 0x1c20
RevisionID: 0x04
Class: 0x04
Subclass: 0x03
Interface: 0x00
ROM Base und ROM Size: N/A
IRG: 11 (A)
Bar=: Memory at 0xc0800000 (size 0x4000)
IO: no, MEM: yes, Master: yes, PaletteSnoop: no, 66MHz capable: no

Ich glaube, das war alles an Infos. Hilft das weiter?

Posted on: 2012/12/28 6:24
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 2780
Offline
Stuckalf wrote:
Quote:
No need to translate into german. I think I understand enough english - so you don't have to worry about translating anything. But thanks for your efforts.

No problem. I know google translate makes it sound terrible sometimes

Quote:
A good hint it was with changing the SATA ports to IDE mode. Now the boot-dvd works fine. One problem solved

Danke schon, for reporting back :thumbsup:

I forgot to add to please make sure to put it back to it's original settings (SATA mode)in the BIOS if you (for instance) want to boot windows from your internal HD again.

As for the compatibility, here you can find the list of supported sounds-chips.

Unfortunately i could not find the cougar (vendor-id/product-id), which (most probably) means it is not supported by AROS :sorry:

Posted on: 2012/12/28 7:33

Edited by magorium on 2012/12/28 8:11:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2012/12/28 4:45
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Offline
Quote:

magorium wrote:
I know google translate makes it sound terrible sometimes

That is ok for me. It's fine to have such a service available these days. It makes communication a lot easier, at least sometimes.

Quote:

As for the compatibility, here you can find the list of supported sounds-chips.

Unfortunately i could not find the cougar (vendor-id/product-id), which (most probably) means it is not supported by AROS :sorry:


What a shame. I dreamt of a new portable Amiga - disguised as an Acer notebook With the ability of using new and old Amiga software. Gee, what a dream.
But an Amiga without sound would be like the Rolling Stones without amplifiers.

Is there any solution to this problem without buying another notebook? Or will this be ever worked on? I mean, every time I connect my usb audio-device AROS has no problem detecting this device and offers a driver for it. Sadly, this driver doesn't work right now. But it seems to be a future option for working sound, doesn't it?

Posted on: 2012/12/28 10:00
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 2780
Offline
Quote:
What a shame. I dreamt of a new portable Amiga - disguised as an Acer notebook With the ability of using new and old Amiga software. Gee, what a dream.

there are more people sharing that dream. If you would work your way back in the forums you might see that there are more people trying to find the perfect AROS machine. Unfortunately it is a tedious task, without a real 100% satisfaction unless you're lucky.

Quote:
But an Amiga without sound would be like the Rolling Stones without amplifiers.

I hear you

Quote:
Is there any solution to this problem without buying another notebook?

Ofcourse there is But you might not really like the answer(s).

First of all, if you are a developer yourself you could write a driver (be it for your internal audio codec or a external usb-audio card). But this might not be a viable option for you.

Secondly, you might interrest one of the AROS developers to develop a driver or add support for your audio (devices). But that would also mean dragging them away from the things they are working on right now. So you might imagine this is a very difficult situation, especially since there aren't many active developers around that can do such a job. You might even donate money to add up the ante If you have enough people with the same problem it might be worth a bounty.

Last but not least you can try to attract developers from the outside that are capable of doing such a task and make them have an interrest in/for AROS.

Quote:
Or will this be ever worked on? I mean, every time I connect my usb audio-device AROS has no problem detecting this device and offers a driver for it. Sadly, this driver doesn't work right now. But it seems to be a future option for working sound, doesn't it?

Yes, as much many other things . It is on a todo-list of a developer. Currently we are a little short, so things does not progress as fast as some of us would like (to see). Patience is virtue in this case. Unfortunately spending time on one specific driver (for serving perhaps 1 or 2 users) isn't as efficient as for example fixing zune/mui (which would be beneficial for all AROS users). So even for a developer that is a tough decision.

Also concider the fact that it is very hard to develop for hardware that one doesn't own him/herself.

Here you can read why usb audio isn't working. And here you can for example see a bounty for a soundblaster driver.

Posted on: 2012/12/28 12:35

Edited by magorium on 2012/12/28 12:56:00
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2012/12/28 4:45
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Offline
Superklasse - Aeros in der aktuellen Version läuft inkl. Sound und SATA-Zugriff. Zwar funktionieren die internen Lautsprecher des Acer Laptops nicht, aber über die Kopfhörer-Buchse kommt der Sound einwandfrei raus.
Hab' zum Test mal eben eine Runde Quake und Giana Returns gespielt. Läuft soweit alles einwandfrei.

Jetzt mache ich mich mal an die HD-Installation und gebe eine Rückmeldung hier im Forum, wenn ich weitere Tests, unter anderem mit Janus-UAE, hinter mir habe.

Posted on: 2012/12/29 7:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Hilfe gesucht für Ersteinrichtung

Joined:
2012/12/28 4:45
From Germany
Group:
Member
Posts: 26
Offline
Ok, die Installation lief reibungslos. Allerdings wurde, soweit ich das sehen kann, nur eine Art Grundsystem installiert. Alle möglichen Spiele und auch Janus-UAE scheinen nicht mitkopiert zu werden. Gut, das könnte man ja per Hand nachholen.

Was mir jetzt dringend fehlt, ist der Internet-Zugriff. Cable-Network würde mir durchaus reichen.
Es gibt ja unter Aeros diesen kleinen feinen Menübalken unten. Wenn ich da im Reiter "Linux" auf "Network" klicke, kann ich zwar ein eth0 als "wired network" einstellen. Allerdings kann ich so ohne weiteres keine Netzwerkverbindung zum Router aufbauen. Das Netzwerk-Kabel habe ich direkt zwischen Noebook und Router angeschlossen. Allerdings wird der Anschluss des Notebooks beim Router nicht angezeigt (da leuchtet ja sonst immer ein kleines Lämpchen am entsprechenden Anschluss auf).

Hat jemand einen Tipp, was ich unter Aeros oder Linux einstellen muss, um ins Netz zu kommen? Auch unter Aeros in den "Network Preferences" wird mir eth0 angezeigt.

Posted on: 2012/12/29 8:33
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3623
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3451
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
2930
4 magorium
magorium
2780
5 deadwood
deadwood
2292
6 clusteruk
clusteruk
2052
7 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2046
8 mazze
mazze
2036
9 damocles
damocles
1787
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1705
© 2004-2013 AROS Exec