Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 »


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
@serk118uk

Thank you for the new version.

I only had a short testing period, but wanted to give you something so you could continue. In case more pops-up later, i'll try report them.

Unfortunately the 2nd (latest) revision of this package does not seem to bring me much good

I experienced the following behaviour:
- no sound (original and 1st revision both did have sound)
- sporadic exits during play (rev.1 not noticed)
- also experienced (very few) sporadic soft-resets (rev.1 not noticed)
- same error as reported in original package (and reported earlier. also see pic)
- pressing cheatkeys sometimes freezes game (seems introduced in rev.1).
- dark matter in mission mode does not get 'cleared' at certain locations (seems introduced in rev.1)
- more hangs/freezes when something gets destroyed.
- please also notice mousepointer (trail) in downleft and midright locations (seems introduced in rev.1)

In case you need more information, then please let me know what you need.

PS: in regards to this error requester. I noticed that when i tried snapit from onyxsoft on older icaros installation that it presented a similar trace. tests done on your ORA was mostly done on 1.4.5 (snapit worked on that release as well as 1.5.2. every other game/prg tested by me, until now did work on both versions). should i switch 100% to version 1.5.2 for testing ORA ?

Attach file:



jpg  ORARepack-r2-mission1-RecoverableAlert.JPG (196.16 KB)
2666_5281ba3d6a32a.jpg 1044X803 px

Posted on: 2013/11/11 21:19

Edited by magorium on 2013/11/12 3:47:49
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2010/1/8 10:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 1413
Offline
I am on Icaros Desktop 1.5.2 and keep updating with nighty builds and have nottryed deadwoods so we are on two diffrent base and works perfectly on my system and does bring free mem twice at exit but sound do work as said before..

Posted on: 2013/11/12 9:30
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2008/1/7 12:41
From Poland
Group:
Dev
Posts: 2923
Offline
@magorium

If there are problems with my ISO, please report them in dedicated threat. Using my ISO to test other people builds and reporting errors to them will be very misleading to those developers

Posted on: 2013/11/12 9:54
_________________
Krzysztof

"There is no such thing as software for free. If it is not the user who covers the cost of software creation with money, it is the developer who covers this cost with his own free time."

www.aros3d.org
www.twitter.com/ddeadwood
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
Quote:
Deadwood wrote:
@magorium

If there are problems with my ISO, please report them in dedicated threat. Using my ISO to test other people builds and reporting errors to them will be very misleading to those developers

Hi deadwood.

Ofcourse that is misleading !

Sorry, but by lack of better wording: where in heavens name did i expressed to be using 1.5.2 experimental for testing OpenRA or any other (by me) mentioned program (in this thread) ?

I have not done such a thing, ever ! (*)

So, if something i wrote gave you or anyone else that impression then i apologize, but also please let me know what made you think so (RLY).

(*): i've tested (and reported accordingly) openRA (and snapit) on icaros 1.3.3, 1.4.5, 1.5.2 and aspireos 1.98.

Posted on: 2013/11/12 10:26
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2008/1/7 12:41
From Poland
Group:
Dev
Posts: 2923
Offline
@magorium

I admit I didn't go through the whole thread. I read serk118uk's post:

"and have nottryed deadwoods so we are on two diffrent base"

Posted on: 2013/11/12 10:35
_________________
Krzysztof

"There is no such thing as software for free. If it is not the user who covers the cost of software creation with money, it is the developer who covers this cost with his own free time."

www.aros3d.org
www.twitter.com/ddeadwood
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
@deadwood:

ah, ok. i missed that post (only read yours first for some reason), so i do apologize for perhaps coming on to strong.

I do believe Serk has some explaining to do then, as i cannot take responsibility for his words

Serk ? ;-p

Posted on: 2013/11/12 10:46
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2010/1/8 10:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 1413
Offline
Quote:

magorium wrote:
I do believe Serk has some explaining to do then, as i cannot take responsibility for his words

Serk ? ;-p


i apologise magorium + deadwood for saying "i(not you mag) have not tryed deadwoods iso yet" to try if works better or not.

works ok with my current icaros 1.5.2 + recent nighty updated.

anyway sorry again if I am the fire starter here..





Posted on: 2013/11/12 12:02
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
serk118uk wrote:
Quote:
i apologise magorium + deadwood for saying "i(not you mag) have not tryed deadwoods iso yet" to try if works better or not.

Aah, yes. it can be interpreted that way as well. No need for apologies .

What is/was confusing for me, however, was the mentioning of a new parameter in the equation. It confused me (and i presume made deadwood frown his eye-browse as well ).

Quote:
works ok with my current icaros 1.5.2 + recent nighty updated.

In which case i honestly wonder, if there is any point for me testing on 1.4.5 and/or 1.5.2 ?

If wished then i can download a nightly every day and test, but (imho) that does not make it easier for you to debug.

E.g. you tested on icaros updated with nightly from 10/11/2013 while i tested with icaros updated with nightly from 12/11/2013, which imo only leads to more 'noise'.

That is also the reason, why i deliberatly do not test things on experimental releases and/or nightlies by default.

Because in the end (and in this particular case) the game (openRA) still refuses to run properly on plain icaros 1.5.2 (at least on my default setup and in vesa mode, which i presume is fairly common), which is a) really a shame and b) defacto standard distro on which people will try to play this game ?

So i am a bit in limbo concerning what to do here (or what is expected from me at this point).

Quote:
anyway sorry again if I am the fire starter here..

The days are getting shorter and last night i experienced the first night-frost for this winter, so perhaps a warm cozy fire is not a bad thing after all. Marshmallow, any-one ?

Posted on: 2013/11/12 12:59
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2010/1/8 10:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 1413
Offline
@magorium

newbuild openra-r2
--------------------
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/OpenRa-r2.lha

this one comes with the icon so just double click and dont touch the stack unless you have problem.


-if you are on vesa than opengl should be 0 at freecnc.ini file
-now exits witout problem or crash.


magorium please try on your current system not any other..(VESA)

Some one please try this on deadwoods iso and report back here..

caveman please try on your system with opengl set to =1 (enable) (IGMA)

....

screenshots
-------------
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra01.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra02.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra03.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra04.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra05.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra06.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra07.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra08.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra09.jpg
http://www.portacall.org/downloads/ra10.jpg

Posted on: 2013/11/13 8:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: openra (Red Alert)

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
Thank you very much for another attempt serk118uk :appreciated:

Unluckily, i need to go to do some groceries (amongst others) so won't be able to test within first hour (or two) but will do asap when returned.

red:
in order to test all (1.4.5/1.5.2 and experimental) and make proper reports/pictures and logs for you i need more time, so i will probably post my findings tomorrow. sorry for any inconvienence.

Posted on: 2013/11/13 8:47

Edited by magorium on 2013/11/13 11:48:18
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



« 1 2 (3) 4 5 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4347
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3891
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3677
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2634
7 mazze
mazze
2214
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2104
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2024
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec