Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 3 4 5 »


current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 831
Offline
..is better than i even expected. i booted one of my a4000 with aros today. first time since several months, i have been busy working with aros68k but i have not tested it on an actual amiga in the meantime.

and so, i went to see that i can browse the net with it all fine;)

https://ibb.co/cXQAo5
http://ibb.co/ijTrvk
http://ibb.co/dFART5

someone else reported that he can use usb hardware with it.
we are simply using device drivers delivered with our hardware, which works on aros.


Posted on: 5/13 18:12
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 61
Offline
It's good to see AROS 68k booting on an Amiga! I assume you had to soft boot the Amiga ROM, so I wonder if it's the same for the Amiga 500 + Vampire that I have? Did you have to change Screenmodes at first? Which AROS 68k distribution are you using...Nightly Build? Or is there a stable one?

I'd like to get it working on my Amiga too! Now I'm jealous that your Amiga 4000 works with AROS!

Posted on: 5/13 21:07
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2016/8/16 0:09
Group:
Member
Posts: 212
Offline
Quote:

miker wrote:
...I wonder if it's the same for the Amiga 500 + Vampire that I have?

hmz

Posted on: 5/13 21:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 831
Offline
Quote:

miker wrote:
It's good to see AROS 68k booting on an Amiga! I assume you had to soft boot the Amiga ROM, so I wonder if it's the same for the Amiga 500 + Vampire that I have? Did you have to change Screenmodes at first? Which AROS 68k distribution are you using...Nightly Build? Or is there a stable one?


people boot aros on a500 with vampire. yes, softbooting. i use either nightly or my own compile. take nightly for starters.

i have put instructions how to do that all over the place. in short:
add this at the beginning of s-s
Quote:

boot/amiga/AROSBootstrap ROM boot/amiga/aros.hunk.gz
SetPatch QUIET

setpatch is optional but better to have to enable software that expects better processor than mc68000.

delete prefs/env/sys/theme.var to get rid of skinning (aplha blending is too slow on planar)

after boot set wanderer prefs backgrounds to colors to reduce boot wait next time..

Posted on: 5/14 9:42
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 61
Offline
If operating on Amiga + Vampire at higher resolutions over HDMI it should be using RTG not planar so colors won't matter as much? I'll test that when it's installed.

Posted on: 5/14 11:08
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 831
Offline
you would have to append your saga p96 driver, whatever it is called, to the arosbootstrap command. i dont know if it is working yet. i ve been told that there is a bit of problem with mntmn one.

Posted on: 5/14 11:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2012/4/16 8:41
From Brindisi (Italy)
Group:
Member
Posts: 1050
Offline
There have been updates on this version of AROS 64?

On WinUAE very fast !

Posted on: 5/14 12:43
_________________
https://www.plagimusicali.net/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 831
Offline
Quote:

amiga wrote:
There have been updates on this version of AROS 64?


not sure what you refer to.

Quote:

On WinUAE very fast !


on uae with jit, everything is very fast. well, almost everything..

Posted on: 5/14 15:13
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
5/2 17:15
From California, United States
Group:
Member
Posts: 61
Offline
On Apollo cpu forum Nixus Minimax reported that AROS needs special drivers because it doesn't currently work well without Cybergraphics or specialized, accelerated RTG. So AROS runs on Apollo accelerator boards, but rendering is very slow currently.

Posted on: 5/14 15:31
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: current state of aros 68k..

Joined:
2010/8/30 7:20
Group:
Member
Posts: 831
Offline
well. aros is not a daemon of speed. but it runs here on my a4000 within acceptable limits, especially on rtg (currently picasso4). all that with p96 driver. something would have to be seriously wrong if it was considerably slower with saga.

afaik grond/nixus didnt tested it himself. he relies on opinion of others.

Posted on: 5/14 16:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 3 4 5 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4281
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3887
4 nikolaos
nikolaos
3670
5 deadwood
deadwood
2923
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2574
7 mazze
mazze
2201
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2055
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2012
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2017 AROS Exec