Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3964
Offline
Now you can see how Intel 3D performs with ACER Aspire One 110.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTH0DJ8nUQU

The driver will be included in next AspireOS update before xmas.

thanx a lot to Sami and Deadwood for their work Gallum 3D.

www.aspireos.com

Posted on: 2011/12/7 13:40
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2010/10/7 15:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 685
Offline
Thanks.

Posted on: 2011/12/7 14:09
_________________
http://www.hollywood-mal.com/
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2006/7/15 23:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 566
Offline
Is the intel chip in the Acers anything like whats in the new Intel CPUs.

If compatible how does it relate to HD2000 and HD3000 intel gfx.

edit - and i meant to say nice video, looks very playable.

Posted on: 2011/12/7 17:29
_________________
It's Brutal! -
AROS, "genetically engineering horses into a race of sunshine-farting unicorns."
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2010/1/8 10:07
Group:
Member
Posts: 1415
Offline
Quote:

mihcael wrote:
looks very playable.


its realy playable not just looks playable with acer aspireones and i mean it...

Posted on: 2011/12/8 2:18
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3964
Offline
The only thing I had to change in Quake 3 settings was lightening. That speeded it up many fps.

Mihcael: You can compare hardware as much as you want, sometimes it does not mean anything. As you might have noticed some stuff run slow even with most mothern gfx-cards and cpu. There are 2 many factors to mention that can be the reason for that, one is Gallium 3D drivers itself and Intel is what the Gallium team used in first place to demonstrate Gallium 3D. On top of that Intel give away all information about their gfx hardware so it is easy for coders to bring most out of it, unlike Nvidia.
As Serk said, Quake 3 runs nice, that is what matters in first place.

If you realy like to compare gfx-cards you have to do that with Windows where drivers are optimized to the maximum.
Those result would not matter much to AROS, but since Gallium 3D and MESA is in heavy development, we can only expect better results as time pass by. The point is that it is already pretty good and we just have to be happy about that :)

Posted on: 2011/12/8 4:35
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo
Guest_
@Nikaros
If Im not mistaken Michael was asking from a technical point of view. Intel gfx hardware hasnt changed much in many years apart from clock rate increases. I took this to be what Michael was asking, which is relevant to this driver. HD2000 and HD3000 arent too far removed from the older intel gfx, just faster. This potentially makes HD2000 and HD3000 an interesting curiousity from an AROS perspective.

Anyway, point being you can indeed compare hardware within the same architecture family. In those cases the speed hierachy is relevant for AROS. You just cant compare different families of hardware and expect them to match windows/linux world. For example a Gf 9500 is faster than a gf9400, a gf 260 faster than a gf 250, a gf 460 faster than a gf 450, etc., but a gf 460 is slower than the gf 9x000 series 2 generations older on AROS (any gallium/mesa combo OS), despite being much faster with "official" drivers elsewhere.
This is to say, I think this is where Michael was coming from with his question.

Posted on: 2011/12/8 5:11

Edited by fishy_fis on 2011/12/8 5:36:27
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3964
Offline
fishy: Yes, good answer. As long as it is same family, higher clock rates etc. should be quite noticable. I still don't think HD2000 and HD3000 will work with AROS though. Nice if someone could try this.

Posted on: 2011/12/8 6:34
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Intel 3D demo

Joined:
2006/7/15 23:30
Group:
Member
Posts: 566
Offline
Thanks fishy_fis, thats what i was asking.

They do sound like quite different technologies, but maybe someone can try a hd2000 hd3000, would be very neat if they work.

Posted on: 2011/12/9 15:03
_________________
It's Brutal! -
AROS, "genetically engineering horses into a race of sunshine-farting unicorns."
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4405
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 nikolaos
nikolaos
3964
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3903
5 deadwood
deadwood
2917
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2778
7 mazze
mazze
2221
8 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
2139
9 clusteruk
clusteruk
2112
10 damocles
damocles
1789
© 2004-2018 AROS Exec