Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
17 user(s) are online (13 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 17

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/5/16 23:01
Group:
Member
Posts: 1038
Offline
How do I connect to such a thing? Every time I save the network, it cuts the second word out of the equation.

I.E. A network called Common Grounds.

The word Grounds gets cut after saving.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 12:35
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2005/6/23 21:23
Group:
Member
Posts: 496
Offline
Did you try quotes like "Common Grounds" ?


Just a guess it might help

Posted on: 2012/3/18 15:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2073
Offline
There's a known bug in Network Prefs with network names that have a space. It saves them properly, but the name will be truncated the next time the settings are loaded into Network Prefs.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 16:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3469
Offline
Since there are lots of interest in AROS now, we could need at network scan tool. It would make things more simple. In wireless networks TAB should be button with scan, then select.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 16:45

Edited by nikolaos on 2012/3/19 3:19:58
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2009/6/21 6:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 33
Offline
+1

It would be nice

Posted on: 2012/3/19 2:13
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
I'm having the same problem here. My network is called "Ann's Network" every time I try and save the network prefs it cuts off the last word.

Is there anyway around this or am I just out of luck?. My wireless card is my only network interface. My on board network port isn't supported.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:31
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2073
Offline
Edit the text file ENVARC:Wireless.prefs and change "Ann's" to "Ann's Network". You'll have to do this each time you Save new network prefs.

Sorry about this, a proper fix is on the way.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK thanks!. I'll give that a shot. At least it's a know bug though!.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK, I've edited the Wireless.prefs file to the right network name and saved it.

After that I try to start the Network Prefs and the machine just locks up. Does this every time I try it.

Hmmm. I'm going to to try booting a linux live CD and see if my wireless card works under another OS. I bought it off ebay for 5 bucks so you never know.

Posted on: 2012/3/25 7:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2073
Offline
If it crashes when you start network prefs (i.e. before you press Use or Save), then it's a bug in that program, sorry.

Posted on: 2012/3/25 9:34
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3677
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3469
3 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3050
4 magorium
magorium
3015
5 deadwood
deadwood
2345
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2073
7 mazze
mazze
2068
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2050
9 damocles
damocles
1769
10 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1714
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec