Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



(1) 2 »


Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/5/16 23:01
Group:
Member
Posts: 1042
Offline
How do I connect to such a thing? Every time I save the network, it cuts the second word out of the equation.

I.E. A network called Common Grounds.

The word Grounds gets cut after saving.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 12:35
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2005/6/23 21:23
Group:
Member
Posts: 502
Offline
Did you try quotes like "Common Grounds" ?


Just a guess it might help

Posted on: 2012/3/18 15:48
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2147
Offline
There's a known bug in Network Prefs with network names that have a space. It saves them properly, but the name will be truncated the next time the settings are loaded into Network Prefs.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 16:32
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2007/4/16 6:26
From Norway
Group:
Member
Posts: 3470
Offline
Since there are lots of interest in AROS now, we could need at network scan tool. It would make things more simple. In wireless networks TAB should be button with scan, then select.

Posted on: 2012/3/18 16:45

Edited by nikolaos on 2012/3/19 3:19:58
_________________
www.aspireos.com
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2009/6/21 6:55
Group:
Member
Posts: 33
Offline
+1

It would be nice

Posted on: 2012/3/19 2:13
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
I'm having the same problem here. My network is called "Ann's Network" every time I try and save the network prefs it cuts off the last word.

Is there anyway around this or am I just out of luck?. My wireless card is my only network interface. My on board network port isn't supported.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:31
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2147
Offline
Edit the text file ENVARC:Wireless.prefs and change "Ann's" to "Ann's Network". You'll have to do this each time you Save new network prefs.

Sorry about this, a proper fix is on the way.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:43
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK thanks!. I'll give that a shot. At least it's a know bug though!.

Posted on: 2012/3/24 11:58
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2006/9/10 7:08
From Durham, NC USA
Group:
Member
Posts: 24
Offline
OK, I've edited the Wireless.prefs file to the right network name and saved it.

After that I try to start the Network Prefs and the machine just locks up. Does this every time I try it.

Hmmm. I'm going to to try booting a linux live CD and see if my wireless card works under another OS. I bought it off ebay for 5 bucks so you never know.

Posted on: 2012/3/25 7:09
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: Wireless networks with a space in the name?

Joined:
2004/10/30 17:13
From Ireland
Group:
Member
Posts: 2147
Offline
If it crashes when you start network prefs (i.e. before you press Use or Save), then it's a bug in that program, sorry.

Posted on: 2012/3/25 9:34
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer



(1) 2 »



You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
3794
2 nikolaos
nikolaos
3470
3 magorium
magorium
3161
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3083
5 deadwood
deadwood
2384
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2147
7 mazze
mazze
2071
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2051
9 Kalamatee
Kalamatee
1796
10 damocles
damocles
1772
© 2004-2014 AROS Exec