Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users





AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2009/3/29 2:56
Group:
Member
Posts: 19
Offline
Hi,

I'm interested in testing AROS 68k roms with old OCS/ECS trackdisk based demos/games.

I'd like to know what's the minimal configuration in order to run this kind of games using AROS rom ?

Typical A500 configuration is 68000/OCS/512k slow/512k chip ram but I'm not sure AROS will run with this configuration...

Posted on: 2012/4/9 15:50
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2011/6/30 19:50
Group:
Member
Posts: 4095
Offline
@warpdesign_

perhaps you can take a look here or here. all nice links and stats to click on and to look at

regards,

Posted on: 2012/4/9 17:20
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2009/3/29 2:56
Group:
Member
Posts: 19
Offline
@magorium: I already have but unfortunately it's kind outdated and there's not much information regarding A500 support.

Posted on: 2012/4/9 22:59
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2011/5/10 23:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 81
Offline
Quote:

Typical A500 configuration is 68000/OCS/512k slow/512k chip ram but I'm not sure AROS will run with this configuration...


It runs, it has always run on A500 config.

Not much RAM left (It is too early to start reducing RAM usage at this point) but most trackloading games and demos won't care, unless they decide to modify some chip memory region without attempting to allocate it before taking over the system.

Posted on: 2012/4/10 0:24
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2009/3/29 2:56
Group:
Member
Posts: 19
Offline
As I understand it, games run from WB won't have enough ram using this configuration, right ?

I also noticed that lots of trackloading games seem to be crashing (usually AROS simply reboots) right after the cracktro. I could provide more details if you're interested but I'm not sure you're focused on that part.

Posted on: 2012/4/10 7:35
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer


Re: AROS 68k: minimal configuration ?

Joined:
2011/5/10 23:05
Group:
Member
Posts: 81
Offline
Probably caused by cracktro modifying already allocated (chip) memory. Use at least 1M slow to prevent chip ram being used for system structures.

Posted on: 2012/4/10 9:10
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer






You can view topic.
You cannot start a new topic.
You cannot reply to posts.
You cannot edit your posts.
You cannot delete your posts.
You cannot add new polls.
You cannot vote in polls.
You cannot attach files to posts.
You cannot post without approval.

[Advanced Search]


Search
Top Posters
1 paolone
paolone
4434
2 magorium
magorium
4095
3 nikolaos
nikolaos
4028
4 phoenixkonsole
phoenixkonsole
3929
5 deadwood
deadwood
2917
6 ncafferkey
ncafferkey
2796
7 mazze
mazze
2221
8 clusteruk
clusteruk
2112
9 damocles
damocles
1789
10 BSzili
BSzili
1513
© 2004-2018 AROS Exec