Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
1 user(s) are online (1 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 1

more...

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

(1) 2 3 4 »

Bounty system

From Norway
Group:
There been talks of how to attract developers to do stuff.
The bounty system is not good in the way that you lock your money to something that might never be done.
On the other hand it also got things done in the past.

Finding someone to do a task and agree upon the amount and collect is a safe way get something done.

Other popular way is with the Kickstarter project.

Set a date collect and if not met money is given back.

I for sure don't like to spend more on the bounty system.

Your thoughts are welcome. There are some stuff we should start to get someone to do like updated, new TCP/IP stack.

Posted on: 5/12 11:33

Re: Bounty system

From Malaysia
Group:
As a new developer, I have been checking the commits logs and there are very few active developers. There just isn't enough developer right now, so we need to be able to attract more people.

The only other OS open source project I have some knowledge on is FreeBSD. I talked to one of the device driver manager who travels around talking at FOSS conferences actively recruiting developers. Developers who are interested are brought in, mentored. Even as an experienced developer, you have to be to have that sort of support to get working on things.

What I am going to be doing is trying to actively recruit at my local Universities and through FOSS conferences/meetups. It will take me a while to be able to fix even simple bugs in the AROS code, so I am going to try to be useful where I can like documentation.